Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Money, success, family? All deadly....

The gripping new DCI Gillard thriller. Perfect for readers of D. K. Hood, Patricia Gibney and Mark Billingham, The Body in the Snow is a remarkable and gripping crime thriller.  

A young detective is out for a jog on a snowy winter morning. Then she sees something terrible: a murder in the park, sudden and inexplicable. A woman has been killed by a passing hooded cyclist. It’s just DCI Craig Gillard’s luck that he’s on duty. The body is that of Tanvi Roy, one of the richest women in Britain and matriarch of a food empire. 

With a tangled web of family and business contacts and jealousies, Gillard’s job just got even more complex. As he delves deeper into the Roy family, it’s clear that everything is not as it seems. As the investigation threatens to unravel, Gillard realises it's only the beginning of his problems. Trouble of a different sort is brewing close to home.

©2019 Nick Louth (P)2020 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about The Body in the Snow

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    227
  • 4 Stars
    76
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    215
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    200
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant and Great.....Listen to this series

As always a great story line, you can't help but become really involved. Thoroughly entertaining and looking forward to the next one.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Books just keep getting better and better

Nick Louth keeps writing more and more clever police procedurals. The twists contained therein kept me listening from start to finish in almost one sitting. The lead characters all had very strong personalities and I found myself totally disliking Trish. Hopefully she'll come to some messy end at some point in the future. I would highly recommend this book, if like me you enjoy a good whodunit.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Weird and intriguing

This one starts off well, with the murder in the snowy park and then spirals off into a myriad of deceits and misdirections, who is to be trusted in this story? I had my guesses ... was I right? You should buy this and see what you think for yourselves, it's a damned good story, Mr Louth just gets better with every book and Marston York is a wonderful narrator so I'm just waiting now for book five please.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Loved the storyline, good honest police work with a superbly natural team, flaws included! Brilliant.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

The best in the series so far, twists, turns and red herrings along the way, hopefully more to come.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Detective series

Nick Louth has created a great Detective series which keeps you gripped with various Characters that “could’ve, should’ve and would’ve dunnit” The narration is good but the Lead Detective’s voice sounds more like someone who should be a “sleakit baddie” rather than the hero of the story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

OK but not a classic

The story was somewhat predictable, though with a few twists and turns to make it reasonably entertaining. It was, however, nowhere near as entertaining as the last one. We will probably try another of this series at some point, but will seek something better elsewhere for now.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed this book

I was in two minds if I should get this book due to the reviews. I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not great. I wouldn't recommend. Weak storyline.

Struggled to finish. In fact didn't bother finding out who the murderer was! I didn't care about the characters at all. Didn't like the racial reference in the language either .

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marydior
  • Marydior
  • 24-03-20

Great listen

Well done mystery/police procedural that kept me guessing almost to the end. It dragged occasionally, hence the 4 star rating for the story but overall an enjoyable listen. Also enjoyed the narration.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wisconsinclark
  • wisconsinclark
  • 07-03-20

Good mystery, tired of Aunt

I like this series, but really it is time to move on from the problems with the Aunt. If our hero is as smart as he is supposed to be, this problem should have been solved by now. The red herring of stalking was also feeble, otherwise worth a credit.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jane Elizabeth
  • Jane Elizabeth
  • 11-03-20

Amazing!!!!!!

I can’t wait for the next one! I can already imagine who is missing and where it may lead!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carol Lemelin
  • Carol Lemelin
  • 23-07-20

Sam needs more work

One of the attractions of Mr. Louth's books was the personality of Sam when Gillard met her. But she lost some of that vibrancy in the next book and all of it in this one. In addition, this story had way too many red herrings. Impatience was my reaction too much of the time.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maine Knitter
  • Maine Knitter
  • 14-03-20

A good series

Book 4 in the Craig Gillard series is another good one. I must admit that I get the police colleagues confused. I had to take notes. (This may be because I listened to the audiobook and it’s hard to go back and see the names.) So when one of them runs into a bad situation I couldn’t really place him. The story itself is interesting. The murder of the matriarch of a spice company and the family dynamics that produces provide much work for Gillard and crew. His family life takes a hit and I dislike the fact that he tends to forget about his wife too often. And he has to deal with his aunt who has returned from an earlier book. The narration, again, is wonderful.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynn
  • Lynn
  • 10-03-20

Series Gets Even Better

Loved the plot and range of characters. Hope that our hero learns to spend more time with his spouse. He's really risking his marriage. How is the series getting better? Wicked humor cuts through some very tragic happenings. Writing shows sophisticated understanding of power dynamics in family businesses. The plot was precariously balanced between action, suspense, false leads, and good detective work. The book was not longer than it needed to be. The author quickly and neatly summed up the solutions, court outcomes, and relationship consequences. There are loose ends: suspicious characters lurk on the edges of the ending, and at least one plot line left this reader wondering if there is a false narrator in the police unit, plotting to mess up Craig. we shall see. Great narration as usual.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for 4Christ
  • 4Christ
  • 09-03-20

Disappointed

I really liked the first 2 books of this series. This one started out well enough and then just got so ridiculous. Very disappointed. Narration was superb though.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 17-11-20

Disappointing

After three fantastic books, Louth fell down. Loose plot ends, unconvincing solution. And the crazy Gothic aunt is a little over the top. Willing to try the next in the series, but I hope it's better than this one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rick
  • Rick
  • 15-08-20

Fast becoming one of my favorite authors

And Marston York is one of my favorite readers. He can handle a variety of accents...in one instance a mix of Persian, Afghani and Birmingham...I have no idea if he got it right, but it sounded sufficiently unique. What I like about the series is that each mystery is different in nature. The first was a murder with connections to Gillard's past, the next had a lot of international intrigue, the third a lot of family drama involving Gillard's aunts and now more traditional murder in a wealthy British-Indian family. The strength of Louth's writing and characterization is seen in the complex web of character inter-relationships that are easy to keep track of as each character is very well developed and distinct. In many mysteries with a large cast of characters I have to make a character list to keep everyone straight. I did not have to with this book. My only knocks on it is the use of his conniving aunt from the previous book as a little more than plot device. It was clear from the end of the previous book she would carry into this one, but her only real role is to make Detective Gillard's wife miserable and in this book his wife is a background character while his fellow investigators take a front seat. The book relies too much on the cop devoted to his job and wife who is neglected for it cliché that come up too often in modern detective fiction in books and on tv. I know it is based on realism but it gets repetitive as a recurrent plot

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for victoria
  • victoria
  • 02-08-20

Really? Intimidation by cat?

Loved the Indian family characters, but the story is highly flawed and makes the whole police department look like a bunch of fools. I’m with other reviewers: Drop the aunt.