Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £6.39

Buy Now for £6.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A Novella of the Orion War (Aeon 14) 

Rika is a scout mech. Once human, now she is the property of the Genevian military.  

Rika's crime was small, stealing food. But when faced with a five-year prison term, or conscription in the Genevian military, she chose war.  

She had no idea what that conscription would entail. 

Now little of Rika's human body remains, and she serves as an SMI-2 scout mech, the meat inside a cyborg body. She, and others like her, are sent in ahead of the human soldiers to tip the scales of war.  

But the enemy has upped the ante and the mechs of Rika's fireteam will have to go up against unimaginable odds if they want to serve their time and become human again.  

An Aeon 14 series

The events of the Rika's Marauders series occur during the New Canaan timespan in The Orion War series. This series may be read at any time after reading Destiny Lost, New Canaan, or Orion Rising.  

About M. D. Cooper & Aeon 14

M. D. Cooper is a New York Times best-selling author who has envisioned a rich future for humanity, one where planet-sized megastructures house trillions of humans, and civilization has risen only to fall and rise again.  

Fans of Starship Troopers, Honor Harrington, The Expanse, or Elizabeth Moon's Vatta's War will feel right at home in this, the first book of the Rika's Marauders, which takes a deeper dive into the world of Aeon 14.  

Over the course of the next few years, M. D. Cooper plans to release an additional 22 books in this expanding universe. So strap in with Rika and get ready to kick some ass as we find out what the future has in store for us.  

©2017 M. D. Cooper (P)2018 M. D. Cooper

What listeners say about Rika Mechanized: A Rika Prequel

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 12-05-18

Love it

I really enjoyed this story. The three women of Hammerfall squad make one hell of a team and have a comraderie that is missing in a lot of other books.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Zach
  • Zach
  • 23-03-19

Fun little prequel

Neat little story. Pretty grim and dark perspective, though I know this is written as a prequel to a series, so it's more just an exploration of the background of the character. Cooper writes excellent sci-fi and this is pretty standard for him. Solidly written, great pace. Quick, fun read.

I thought Stinnett did a decent enough job with the narration, though she tended more towards the side of "reading" than embodying the characters and the story. A few places she really embraced the emotions of the narrative and it was great. Overall she tended towards a soft, subtle narration tone which didn't quite mesh with the intense nature of the narrative. In the end I enjoyed the story and her reading didn't detract. Solid narration.