We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Secret Life of the Mind Audiobook

The Secret Life of the Mind: How Our Brain Thinks, Feels and Decides

Regular Price:£11.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A vast yet compact view of cognitive neuroscience, a groundbreaking, personal and comprehensive guide into understanding our thoughts.

In the last 20 years, Mariano Sigman has journeyed to the core of the brain, an organ formed by nearly an infinity of neurons that manufacture how we perceive, reason, feel, dream and communicate.

After more than two decades of research, he has zoomed out from a thorough excursion to the neurons to seeing the brain from afar, where thoughts begin to take shape. And at this point, where psychology meets neuroscience, The Secret Life of the Mind combines the astonishing work of biologists, physicists, mathematicians, psychologists, anthropologists, linguists, engineers, philosophers and medical doctors - not to forget cooks, magicians, musicians, chess players, writers and artists. It is an astonishing synthesis of a life's expertise on the edge of science, for fans of Thinking, Fast and Slow.

Looking into how we forge ideas in our first days of life, how we shape the decisions that define us, why we dream and how years and years of formal and informal education change our brains, this book explores how we begin to understand even the smallest things that make up who and what we are.

©2015 Mariano Sigman (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What the Critics Say

"Mariano Sigman writes and thinks in a uniquely provocative way. He is a gifted cognitive neuroscientist, and we are lucky to have him excavating the secret life of the mind. He makes learning about the mind and brain easy and almost automatic. He is the Richard Feynman of the brain." (Andrew Meltzoff, professor of psychology, the University of Washington; coauthor of The Scientist in the Crib)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (8 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (8 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (8 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.