Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Murder at the Beauty Pageant

  • A Miss Underhay Mystery, Book 12
  • By: Helena Dixon
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 7 hrs and 16 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (23 ratings)
Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Murder at the Beauty Pageant cover art

Murder at the Beauty Pageant

By: Helena Dixon
Narrated by: Karen Cass
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Murder at the Dolphin Hotel: A Gripping Cozy Historical Mystery cover art
A Very English Murder cover art
Death Among the Diamonds cover art
Murder Offstage cover art
A Roaring Murder cover art
Murder on the Golden Arrow cover art
The Camille Divine Murder Mysteries Boxset cover art
Mystery on Hidden Lane: An Utterly Gripping Cozy Mystery Novel cover art
Cleopatra Fox Mysteries Boxed Set, Books 1-3 cover art
The Christmas Tree Murders cover art
The Murder at Sissingham Hall cover art
The Bookshop Murder cover art
A Dangerous Goodbye cover art
Mystery in Provence cover art
The Scottish Ladies' Detective Agency cover art
Miss Hewitt Investigates the Return of the Ripper cover art

Summary

Kitty Underhay is awarding first place...to murder.

Spring, 1935. Newlywed Kitty Underhay has been enlisted by her old nemesis Mrs. Craven to help organize the Miss Dartmouth Jubilee pageant at the Dolphin Hotel. Being bossed around by her arch enemy is not quite what Kitty had in mind for the start of her married life, but she’s excited to launch the glamorous show. Sparkling smiles are quickly replaced by audible gasps, however, when one of the girls goes missing during the interval....

When pretty Peggy Blaine is discovered dead, Kitty can’t help but notice that none of the other contestants seem particularly shocked. Can jealousy over a sash and a diamante tiara be a motive for murder?

But when she discovers the threatening notes the young women have received, Kitty enlists her husband, Matt, to figure out who’s scaring the competitors. However, before Matt can speak to them, another entrant turns up dead after an apparently accidental overdose. Taking part in a beauty pageant seems to have turned into a fatal occupation!

The daring duo is sure that someone close to the girls is responsible. But can they sort the harmless face powders from the fatal poisons before it’s too late? Or will Kitty and Matt find they are next to be crowned...with death?

An utter joy! Fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey, and Lee Strauss will fall head over heels for this utterly compelling and totally charming historical cozy mystery!

©2023 Helena Dixon (P)2023 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Murder at the Beauty Pageant

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another great Miss Kitty Adventure

I love this series and always look forward to a new one coming out.
Looking forward to their next adventure.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rh
  • 22-05-23

Another great Miss Underhay story.

Another classic Miss Underhay story with all the elements that we love. Lots of sleuthing, who dunnit clues and this time a new addition to Kitty and Matt’s household and an old face makes a somewhat unwanted appearance. Narrated wonderfully by Karen Cass, who brings all the characters to life so wonderfully. Thoroughly enjoyed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Murder at the Beauty Pageant.

Another terrific murder mystery, with a good list of suspects but no defendant detection to point to the culprit. With Kitty and Matt settling in to married life, Kitty finds herself at a bit of a loose end and volunteers to help out at the Beauty Pageant. Read brilliantly again by Karen Cass who brings life to all the characters.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story and narrator

Great cosy mystery series, I’ve listened to all of them and I think this one is a new favourite. Good twists in the storyline and good narration.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!