Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Your lost love never came home after the war. Would you risk everything to find out what happened to him?  

The year 1944. While war rages in Europe, Fenella Churche is doing her bit in the green fields of England. But when she finds a letter addressed to her on the scrubbed farmhouse table, she knows the news won’t be good. She hasn’t heard from her fiancé, Arthur, since he was posted to France on a dangerous undercover mission, and from his very first words she knows he may not be coming back. 

I fear this may be my last letter to you, my darling, Arthur writes. Fen won’t give up hope and calls the war office, wanting to know if Arthur is still alive; they refuse to tell her anything. Searching for answers, she returns to his letter, but parts of it just don’t make sense. Through her tears Fen realizes that her darling Arthur is giving her all the clues she needs to find out what happened to him. 

The year 1945. With the war behind them and nothing left for her in England, Fen travels to the deceptively pretty French village where she thinks Arthur might be, but there’s no sign of him. She’s close to giving up when she finds his silver cigarette case and another letter full of clues. But when the local priest is killed, it’s clear someone wants to keep wartime secrets buried. If Arthur, a brilliant spy, was outwitted and betrayed, can Fen stay alive long enough to find out what happened to the man she loves? 

A gripping story of war, mystery, espionage, and murder. Fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Rhys Bowen will absolutely adore this World War Two murder mystery. 

©2020 Fliss Chester (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about A Dangerous Goodbye

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

quite enjoyable

I listen to this book all the way through although found it quite hard going in the middle but it did came to a satisfactory ending; weather I would listen to another book by this author is debateable.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DHackney
  • DHackney
  • 05-01-21

Excellent New Mystery Series!

I enjoyed every moment of A Dangerous Goodbye by Fliss Chester. This book is the first in a new series set just following WW2. The audio performance was entertaining.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah C
  • Sarah C
  • 12-10-21

I so wanted to love this book!

It was so boring! I didn't even finish it.
I had to speed the aeration up so I didn't go nuts listening to its incredibly slow narration.