Listen free for 30 days

Her Mother's Grave

Detective Josie Quinn, Book 3
Narrated by: Eilidh Beaton
Series: Detective Josie Quinn, Book 3
Length: 11 hrs and 10 mins
5 out of 5 stars (30 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

When two young boys discover human bones buried beneath a tree in a trailer park, Detective Josie Quinn races to join her team at the scene. She used to play in those woods as a child, happier outside and away from her abusive mother, Belinda Rose.

Josie’s past crashes into her present when a rare dental condition confirms the bones belong to a teenage foster-child who was murdered 30 years ago. A girl named Belinda Rose....

Josie hasn’t seen her mother in years but, with an undeniable connection between her mother and the dead girl, does she dare try to track her down? Just as Josie gets closer to uncovering a secret that will shatter her world forever, another body is uncovered. It’s suddenly clear that someone very close to Josie will stop at nothing to keep the truth buried forever. 

As she battles the demons from her past, can Josie stop this killer before another precious life is taken?

Do you love unputdownable crime thrillers that keep you up all night? Then this gripping rollercoaster ride, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni, and Rachel Caine, will have you totally hooked! 

©2018 Lisa Regan (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant looking forward to book 4

excellent story line. can't wait for the next book. great series so far.lets get listening

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The series keeps developing

The more the series continues the more the characters develop and you grow more invested in them. The story again is well told and keeps the reader engrossed. With each book in the series you connect crumbs dropped in earlier books that interweave the narrative drawing the reader in further with each book. This series was one of them where I was unsure as whether to get the second now I am looking forward th the next. A real grower.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Morita
  • J. Morita
  • 26-08-18

Narrator took away from story itself

This was an intriguing plot with a decent mystery and personal story that kept me listening, but I nearly didn't finish because the narrator was so awful. She didn't enunciate the endings of certain basic words such as saying "ninetin" instead of "nineteen" and it was really off-putting, but what really bothered me was her mispronunciation of the last name Ortiz.

I can't understand how someone in this country, living in this day and age (when all you have to do is Google something you're not sure of), doesn't know how to pronounce a very common name like Ortiz, or how the producers of this audio book let that happen. I'm not even Hispanic, and I found it incredibly insulting. It's like mispronouncing Miller or Smith.

I won't be listening to any more books in this series.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan Harris
  • Jan Harris
  • 27-08-18

Distracting pronunciations

I started counting and negatively reacting to the narrator pronouncing “ate” as “et” and “anything” as “enah-thin” and “nineteen” as “nighting”. It distracted me from the content.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sheree V
  • Sheree V
  • 23-08-18

Narration Is a Distraction

The narrator needs to expand her vocabulary , maybe read pronunciations of certain words., and most importantly learn how to pronounce nineteen, detail, Tyvek, anything, just about any word ending in ing, chevette, and others too numerous to mention. I've seen other reviews with similar comments and don't understand why the producer of the recording doesn't correct these distracting mistakes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for melanie
  • melanie
  • 26-07-18

Terrible

I could not stand the narrator's voice. Her mispronunciation of several words was nerve grating.

The story was not remotely plausible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eva
  • Eva
  • 17-11-19

Reader needs pronunciation lessons

Examples are Ortiz (spanish word), controversy, nineTeen not nineDeen, patron has a long A sound. It’s annoying.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for 4Christ
  • 4Christ
  • 04-11-19

New narrator please

I really liked the story. The narrators performance was good but her annunciation/pronunciation of words was terrible. Allora, I finished the book anyway. On to the next...

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. Gottschalg
  • C. Gottschalg
  • 29-10-19

Narrator is awful

This is my third book in the series and the stories are great but honestly I wish I had not started them because the narrator is so terrible. She has awkward timing, mispronunciations, and her tone of voice and enunciation is all wrong. Now I’m stuck because I want to know what happens with Josie Quinn!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gerry
  • Gerry
  • 29-10-19

Heard it all before

Not believable, too many coincidences....too close to Dugoni books ....will not read any more in this series

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer
  • Jennifer
  • 11-10-19

WTH.....How did this woman become a narrator? My son who has a severe articulation problem is more understandable than she is.

This is the 3rd book in the Josie Quinn series, and while the stories are good, albeit a little far fetched at times the narrator is killing me. My son is 10 year old and has been in speech therapy for more than 8 years. He has a severe articulation problem, and he is more understandable than this woman. What person cannot pronounce the word been. She says “where have you bean”. She pronounces “anything” ENNYTHIN. It’s HORRIBLY distracting and I am close to pulling the plug in this series. I am not sure I can finish this story. I am at the part to where Josie is 14 in her flashbacks. I am really wanting to find out what happened to Josie’s psycho mom. Also, I am rooting for Josie to end up with Noah. She has had the most awful luck with Ray her husband who offered her up to his best friend for sex and then Luke who lets face it we learned was no better than Ray, a world class &$$ hole. She deserves something or someone good.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie
  • Julie
  • 09-10-19

Good listen

Very interesting from start to finish. Also of twists and turns, but it don't lose you.