Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Two murders. Twenty years. Now the killer is back for more....

A darkly compelling debut crime novel. The start of a brilliant series, perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Val McDermid, and James Oswald.

DCI Matilda Darke has returned to work after a nine-month absence. A shadow of her former self, she is tasked with reopening a cold case: the terrifyingly brutal murders of Miranda and Stefan Harkness. The only witness was their 11-year-old son, Jonathan, who was too deeply traumatised to speak a word.

Then a dead body is discovered, and the investigation leads back to Matilda's case. Suddenly the past and present converge, and it seems a killer may have come back for more.... 

©2019 Michael Wood (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about For Reasons Unknown

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    215
  • 4 Stars
    90
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    204
  • 4 Stars
    78
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    187
  • 4 Stars
    81
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Chalk and cheese

Having read the Seventh Victim written by Michael Wood I was eager to listen to another of his book. Being from Sheffield where the story for this book is set made me all the more interested to read "For Reasons Unknown" I found this book a chore and wanted it finished.I didn't like the narration or the story line. I'll be a bit more selective next time

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This was excellent

I couldn’t put this down such a great story with really authentic surprises. Keeps you guessing all through to the end. Will definitely be going to the next in series.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent book. Thoroughly enjoyed it

Narration was good and with accents that you would believe. Story was interesting and kept me gripped until the end.

Very enjoyable to listen to in the car to and from work!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Strangely complex

This book felt quite bleak at times with many of the protagonists suffering from depression. The plot was strangely complex. Some of the complexity didn’t really add anything to the plot. However it jogged along nicely and filled an dull afternoon.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Characterisation

I love finding a new Author with a series. And what a cracker there is here. Matilda Darke is a damaged soul from the outset of the book, battling with her own issues, coming back to work. It doesn't take long to be totally rooting for her though. She's not a down-trodden went blanket, though: Michael Wood gives us just enough back story, and more "show" than "tell" to really shape he genuine struggles. These run parallel to the cold case she is given, reluctantly, at the start. Restrictions on her working conditions posing a hurdle to navigate. The story moves quickly, and the web of possibilities complicates. New bits of info pop up throughout the book making each red herring go a little purple, then blue, the red again. Satellite characters feed into the major plotline, all with just enough description to move the story forward. I'd say if you like your McDermid, you'll love these - there are nods to other crime writers in the book itself... Matilda Darke even gets compared to Vera Stanhope, and to be fair, I can see that. But only a nod. I like Matilda Darke and I want to follow her. A cracking first series that I will be following up on.

Credit should also go to the narration by Stephanie Beattie - excellent pace, clear voice, great characterisation.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Far Fetched But Good!

This I suppose a police procedural. I'm no expert, but I think it highly unlikely most events or relationships are ever going on in a police station. Or at least I hope not!

But having said that It is an easy listen with a fairly simple storyline ( I'm no good following complicated plots!). It has some surprises and twists and turns. Matilda the main character is likeable and flawed.

So do download and enjoy if you like an easy listen.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this storyline!

Absolutely brilliant, identified with the lead character and her anxiety and finished the book in 3 days flat despite being a full time working single Mum with twins! Just listened on my headphones every spare moment! 😂

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Engaging murder mystery

Thoroughly enjoyed although outcome was difficult to believe. Will look for more by this author. Narration was excellent.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A very good story

It started a bit slowly, and I wasn’t sure I was going to line it, but it picked up and I was hooked.
Very well read, and it did keep me guessing. On to the next book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Serviceable

New series for me. Not a bad listen but characters including Matilda not ones that were particularly appealing. Perfectly well read. I will probably listen to second in series to give the series a fair chance as its certainly got promise.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karenique
  • Karenique
  • 19-07-19

The beginning of an excellent British series!

👏Definitely 15 stars! Author Michael Wood and narrator Stephanie Beattie are a perfect duo as they lead us on a cold case investigation. Never a dull moment and surprises all the way through. Character development is so well-done, I can envision each and every one. I’ve already bought the next one in the series, “Outside Looking In” for $7.14, a reasonably priced book, no need to waste a treasured credit (same price for this one one). I can’t say enough about how exceptional this fast-paced and exciting audiobook is; at the top of my vast Audible library list. Kudos to both Wood and Beattie! Please keep writing, Mr. Wood and continue your perfect narration, Ms. Beattie. I recently had been on an Audible loser’s streak with my choices for quite a while and am so relieved and delighted to have found this series. Highly recommended! Buy it. You won’t be sorry.👏

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 05-07-19

3

Another fine mystery with a different twist. There is a bit
too much detailing of intraforce
bickering but it is worth whipping up some popcorm during these
scenes, the rest of the book is very good.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sires
  • Sires
  • 03-07-19

Kind of Medium Sort of Book

I like Stuart MacBride's books where every character is given a distinct personality and even if he tortures his heroes, the plot is amazingly entertaining. But unfortunately this author does not have MacBride's touch. The lead character is Matilde Darke. She has just returned to her Major Incident Team after a unsuccessful kidnapping case, a personal trauma, and a year off to find that her parking spot has been nicked by Acting DCI Hales who had been promoted temporarily into her place while she was recovering. She has a psychologist she doesn't trust, a drinking problem, and boatloads of anxiety. Before she can resume her leadership road she has to review a cold case that occurred 20 years ago when two parents were killed in their own home (about to be demolished) leaving two traumatized sons who grew up separately.

The plot is a bit obvious if you keep an eye out on the clues. I just had to delete a couple of clues that made me roll my eyes. If you like Stuart MacBride or Val McDermid, don't expect to find them here.

Performance isn't really inspiring either. I think that it is mostly supposed to be a Yorkshire accent but I have definitely heard it done better.

I downloaded the second book in the series mainly be cause I listed to the sample which made it sound better than it turned out to be. I'll listen to it a little later, after I've caught up with Harry Bingham's Fiona Griffith series.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lillybet
  • lillybet
  • 14-07-19

DCI Darke

I really enjoyed this book. interesting plot, well developed characters, good narration. I'd recommend this.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandy
  • Sandy
  • 30-12-19

Average

This book was just average, but Matilda was interesting enough to purchase the next in the series. The narration was great.