Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The third book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Peter James, Lee Child and Karin Slaughter.

Eight killers. One house. And the almost perfect murder....

Starling House is home to some of the nation’s deadliest teenagers, still too young for prison.

When the latest arrival is found brutally murdered, DCI Matilda Darke and her team investigate, and discover a prison manager falling apart and a sabotaged security system. Neither the staff nor the inmates can be trusted.

The only person Matilda believes is innocent is facing prison for the rest of his life. With time running out, she must solve the unsolvable to save a young man from his fate, and find a murderer in a house full of killers....

©2019 Michael Wood (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"You can count on Michael Wood to deliver a deliciously twisted and intriguing plot, leading to a surprise ending by a likeable and very real protagonist, Matilda Darke." (Yrsa Sigurdardottir)

"A pitch-black concept, tightly delivered and played at exhilarating pace." (Paul Finch) 

What listeners say about A Room Full of Killers

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    96
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    95
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping story

The sound of the narrator getting saliva in her mouth was off putting and irritating. Story line good and I can’t wait for the next booking hopefully with a better sound technician.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

love this series

Working my way through this series of books and enjoying everyone.
It may just be me but the narrator sounds like shes too close to the microphone. I can hear every breath and each time she swallows. Im new to audio books so may just be me. I have never noticed that in any other book. Love how she tells the story though.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

confused & boring

too many characters.
dreadful plot. grim and bleak description of the killers. desperate description of police incompetence.
just awful conclusion.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

pitiful.

the narrator wasn't exactly even reasonable, all of the characters behaved in ways that would have them directing traffic on the hybrids, the heroine was - sorry can't think of a word bad enough. Grammar? What grammar? Basically if Enid Blyton had written it, l wouldn't be surprised. the publisher must have been blackmailed, or bribed. DO NOT BUY THIS MANS WORK. IT STINKS.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A proper modern sleuth!

This was a fab real "whodunnit" which brazenly went for the jugular on taboo subjects. I felt there was a really strong story set up right from the start and even though I partially got to piecing the answer together by the end, the twists and turns on the way were interesting,. Great balance of the tragic and the humour, and once again, the characterisation is brilliant. Some technical/procedural details have bent towards dramatic licence, but to be fair to Michael Wood, this is all part of writing - and my knowledge of specific areas might be an unfair yardstick. After all, total "reality" is not the point - a well researched, damn good story is: and that is what this book is, for sure. It's been great fun, but 1, 2 and 3 getting to know Matilda Darke - and she is a great character.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Entertaining and gripping story

I enjoyed all of the story until the end. Left me at unease. Am I the only one wondering what the last few sentences meant? :) I read all the three books in a row and was pleased with all of them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

First class crime fiction !!!

I was engrossed from the beginning to the end. I really like Matilda Darke and her friends and colleagues. The story twists and turns and just when I thought I understood it off we went in another direction.

The one thing I will say is 'the end' got me

I think that Stephanie Beattie was, yet again, brilliant at her narration.

I have just bought the next book, The Hangman's Hold and I'll probably get through as quick as the others Haha

Highly recommended

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great series

loved this cant wait to listen to the next one great to see the characters developing

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great story

so easy to follow. Matilda is winding me up now. should have been sacked after the last episode. or at least suspended. liability 🤦🏾‍♀️

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

annoying

I was disappointed with this book of the series. Matilda is driving me mad; I just want to shake her. she's so flaky and totally irresponsible. I'm sure, in real life, she would have been sacked long ago.

I found I got some of the boys muddled up because they weren't easy to separate - except for 2 who were more important to the story. once again, Matilda's judgement was up for scrutiny.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karenique
  • Karenique
  • 21-08-19

DCI Darke - May I have more please?

The fourth and last book so far in the DCI Matilda Darke series, this dark, dismal and mysterious thriller takes us on a trip to Starling House. From here on, talented author Michael Wood and brilliant narration by Stephanie Beattie introduce us to a menagerie of ominous characters. I do so enjoy the intellect, humor and personality of DCI Matilda Darke and those are the reasons I purchased this book for $7.14. (Why waste a treasured credit?) The last few menacing (???) words of the audiobook left me wondering perhaps there may be more to come... Hmmmm. Highly recommended!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 02-07-19

5

A mystery thick as a 20th century telephone book that delivers one heck of a good story with LOTS of interest. It is many hours.of
listening pleasure - a nod to locked room puzzles, several mentions of Hercules Poirot, an excellent narrator and a hint of
more teenage killers rodeos to come. 2019 thanks the author, the editors, production crew and Audible. You will, too.


2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wbc
  • wbc
  • 31-01-20

Excellent series

I am really enjoying this series. The characters are well developed and varied. Can’t wait for another installment.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann
  • Ann
  • 17-09-20

STILL GOING STRONG

Story not quite as good as Wood’s previous two audiobooks, but still well-written and enjoyable. Same great narrator. Recommend a listen.