Listen free for 30 days

A Room Full of Killers

DCI Matilda Darke Thriller, Book 3
Narrated by: Stephanie Beattie
Series: DCI Matilda Darke, Book 3
Length: 12 hrs and 21 mins
4.7 out of 5 stars (75 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The third book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Peter James, Lee Child and Karin Slaughter.

Eight killers. One house. And the almost perfect murder....

Starling House is home to some of the nation’s deadliest teenagers, still too young for prison.

When the latest arrival is found brutally murdered, DCI Matilda Darke and her team investigate, and discover a prison manager falling apart and a sabotaged security system. Neither the staff nor the inmates can be trusted.

The only person Matilda believes is innocent is facing prison for the rest of his life. With time running out, she must solve the unsolvable to save a young man from his fate, and find a murderer in a house full of killers....

©2019 Michael Wood (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"You can count on Michael Wood to deliver a deliciously twisted and intriguing plot, leading to a surprise ending by a likeable and very real protagonist, Matilda Darke." (Yrsa Sigurdardottir)

"A pitch-black concept, tightly delivered and played at exhilarating pace." (Paul Finch) 

What listeners say about A Room Full of Killers

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping story

The sound of the narrator getting saliva in her mouth was off putting and irritating. Story line good and I can’t wait for the next booking hopefully with a better sound technician.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Entertaining and gripping story

I enjoyed all of the story until the end. Left me at unease. Am I the only one wondering what the last few sentences meant? :) I read all the three books in a row and was pleased with all of them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

First class crime fiction !!!

I was engrossed from the beginning to the end. I really like Matilda Darke and her friends and colleagues. The story twists and turns and just when I thought I understood it off we went in another direction. The one thing I will say is 'the end' got me I think that Stephanie Beattie was, yet again, brilliant at her narration. I have just bought the next book, The Hangman's Hold and I'll probably get through as quick as the others Haha Highly recommended

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great series

loved this cant wait to listen to the next one great to see the characters developing

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great story

so easy to follow. Matilda is winding me up now. should have been sacked after the last episode. or at least suspended. liability 🤦🏾‍♀️

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

annoying

I was disappointed with this book of the series. Matilda is driving me mad; I just want to shake her. she's so flaky and totally irresponsible. I'm sure, in real life, she would have been sacked long ago. I found I got some of the boys muddled up because they weren't easy to separate - except for 2 who were more important to the story. once again, Matilda's judgement was up for scrutiny.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A room full of Killers

I have listened to all of this series and I think they are all brilliantly Written and exciting and I can’t wait for the next ones thank you very much

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely brilliant

I read book one on the kindle and quite enjoyed the story but it was not the most gripping, but then I found this and thought it sounded interesting, I was right, it's 100% gripping, I could not sleep until I'd finished (that happens rather a lot to me) it had more twists than a welsh country road. It's a dark and tragic tale, much like book one but more interesting. I love the fact that Mathilda is a bit of a lone ranger, they're always my favourites. She has as many flaws as I do which makes her much more likeable than some of the clones in detective novels. I did wonder why though, throughout the book, why nobody pointed out that Mathilda had also believed Jonathan Harkness to be innocent when she is vouching for Thomas's innocence, she's been wrong before ... and at the end of the book you will be wondering if she was wrong again ... But you probably won't care ... The narrator is great too, not perfect but she does a sterling job with this series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karenique
  • Karenique
  • 21-08-19

DCI Darke - May I have more please?

The fourth and last book so far in the DCI Matilda Darke series, this dark, dismal and mysterious thriller takes us on a trip to Starling House. From here on, talented author Michael Wood and brilliant narration by Stephanie Beattie introduce us to a menagerie of ominous characters. I do so enjoy the intellect, humor and personality of DCI Matilda Darke and those are the reasons I purchased this book for $7.14. (Why waste a treasured credit?) The last few menacing (???) words of the audiobook left me wondering perhaps there may be more to come... Hmmmm. Highly recommended!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 02-07-19

5

A mystery thick as a 20th century telephone book that delivers one heck of a good story with LOTS of interest. It is many hours.of listening pleasure - a nod to locked room puzzles, several mentions of Hercules Poirot, an excellent narrator and a hint of more teenage killers rodeos to come. 2019 thanks the author, the editors, production crew and Audible. You will, too.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wbc
  • wbc
  • 31-01-20

Excellent series

I am really enjoying this series. The characters are well developed and varied. Can’t wait for another installment.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann
  • Ann
  • 17-09-20

STILL GOING STRONG

Story not quite as good as Wood’s previous two audiobooks, but still well-written and enjoyable. Same great narrator. Recommend a listen.