Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The addictive new crime thriller featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons.

Some cases won’t die. 

A young boy walks into a police station in France. He claims to be Carl Meagan - a missing child from Sheffield whose name is still whispered as a warning to kids who stay out after dark.

Some children won’t be found.

On her way home from the supermarket, nine-year-old Keeley Armitage vanishes without trace. Her family is overcome with shock, and DCI Matilda Darke can’t help but focus on memories of the Carl Meagan case that almost ruined her career.

Some killers won’t be stopped.

As Matilda investigates, she peels back the layers of grief and sadness that surround Keeley’s family. Until she is left with an unimaginable choice: betray those closest to her or let a violent killer walk free....

©2020 Michael Wood (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"She is the perfect heroine." (Elly Griffiths)

"DCI Matilda Darke is going places." (James Oswald)

What listeners say about Stolen Children

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    79
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love This Series

Loved this book. Can’t wait for the next one. Unfortunately book 4 & 5 wasn’t available as Audible so hoping book 7 is

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Annoying!

I absolutely hated the main character in this book. She's whiny, annoying, rude, self entitled and blames everyone but herself. For a protagonist she's awful. The voice the actor uses for her gets on my nerves too. I just couldn't continue with this audiobook. 👎

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic book!!

Couldn't stop listening to this audiobook, the story was so engaging, although horrific in parts! The ending chapter could be the start of a sequel perhaps?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely riveting !

I listen to Audible on my daily walk, twice a day and I haven’t been able to get out of the door fast enough! My hubby also wanted to join me, but I’ve politely declined his company as he would’ve wanted to chat and all I wanted to do was listen to this book! Really enjoyed the narrator. She read it so well. Thoroughly recommend this author. I’m catching up on his other books now.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Ridiculous storyline

It's not often that I dislike a storyline, especially in a series that I've followed this far, I do seem to recall rather enjoying the previous titles in this series but now I'm starting to wonder about that, this has the most ludicrous storyline I've ever encountered, the characters are all two dimensional at best, the dialogue is poor although the character interplay is not bad, but towards the the ending things really get out of control. The police officers (mostly those of the female variety) start behaving like trainees and I've got one hour to go here, but I am so incensed by this riculous story that I had to come here to write this (admittedly poor) review.

I do NOT recommend this one at all, unless you are a sucker for a terrrible storyline, I will continue to listen to the bitter end and will update if anything improves, but until then, this is my opinion and I'm sticking with it.

I finished it and no, it did not improve one iota, this is definitely one to miss from the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gripping book

this book is one of the best one for a while gripping all the way through good storyline well worth listening to this is a best iv listen to this author can't wait for next

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bring on No.7!!

Such good story lines. Can’t stop listening on my walk, doing housework or just lazing on the bed! Brilliant series, even if I do guess the killer half way through, love the plot, the characters and the narrator

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Stolen children

This was a reasonable book. It took along time to get started and it savagery slow and sometimes loses the plot. It has a good
Twist at the end.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another good instalment

These stories are enjoyable. The plots are somewhat fantastical but nevertheless good. I’m nit a great fan of the narrator though as she has weak accents and poor definitions between characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

enjoyable series

Easy listening and good story. Can not wait to listen to the next one. great

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JoLa2020
  • JoLa2020
  • 29-03-21

Stolen Children- DCI Darke book 6

I LOVE this series!! Matilda Darke and her team must find a missing a missing 9-year-old girl.....meanwhile, a boy walks into a police station in France and claims to be Carl Meagan. This is a dark and emotional tale that builds and builds until the final twist. I highly recommend all the books in this series - read in order. I enjoy the small peek into the lives of Matilda's team - further fleshing out the characters, making you feel more connected. Looking forward to the next installment!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karenique
  • Karenique
  • 02-01-21

Disturbing subject matter, but I’m hooked

The title says it all. I usually stay away from anything to do with missing children but since I enjoyed Michael Wood’s Matilda Darke Series, I couldn’t pass on this one and will get the the next one that surely follows this book as the ending leaves it open for more. As usual, narration by Stephanie Beattie is spot-on and the writing is well-done. Though the subject matter is heartbreaking, it grabbed my attention and I did finish it. I paid $9.39. I save my credits for higher priced books. Recommended? Each to their own, however this book’s ending leaves the story open for Book 2 and, of course, now I’m hooked and will get it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Virginia S. O'Bryan
  • Virginia S. O'Bryan
  • 31-10-20

Great Series

Narration is excellent and the characters and verbal exchanges are well done. However, I am getting sick of the Carl Meeghan thread. The author needs to solve this already and move on.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lovebeck
  • lovebeck
  • 08-10-20

Political Correctness ruins books for me.

Predictable and quite a bit of political correctness. It was not a book I would recommend.