Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The addictive new crime thriller featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons.

Some cases won’t die. 

A young boy walks into a police station in France. He claims to be Carl Meagan - a missing child from Sheffield whose name is still whispered as a warning to kids who stay out after dark.

Some children won’t be found.

On her way home from the supermarket, nine-year-old Keeley Armitage vanishes without trace. Her family is overcome with shock, and DCI Matilda Darke can’t help but focus on memories of the Carl Meagan case that almost ruined her career.

Some killers won’t be stopped.

As Matilda investigates, she peels back the layers of grief and sadness that surround Keeley’s family. Until she is left with an unimaginable choice: betray those closest to her or let a violent killer walk free....

©2020 Michael Wood (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"She is the perfect heroine." (Elly Griffiths)

"DCI Matilda Darke is going places." (James Oswald)

What listeners say about Stolen Children

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely riveting !

I listen to Audible on my daily walk, twice a day and I haven’t been able to get out of the door fast enough! My hubby also wanted to join me, but I’ve politely declined his company as he would’ve wanted to chat and all I wanted to do was listen to this book! Really enjoyed the narrator. She read it so well. Thoroughly recommend this author. I’m catching up on his other books now.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love This Series

Loved this book. Can’t wait for the next one. Unfortunately book 4 & 5 wasn’t available as Audible so hoping book 7 is

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

enjoyable series

Easy listening and good story. Can not wait to listen to the next one. great

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Ridiculous storyline

It's not often that I dislike a storyline, especially in a series that I've followed this far, I do seem to recall rather enjoying the previous titles in this series but now I'm starting to wonder about that, this has the most ludicrous storyline I've ever encountered, the characters are all two dimensional at best, the dialogue is poor although the character interplay is not bad, but towards the the ending things really get out of control. The police officers (mostly those of the female variety) start behaving like trainees and I've got one hour to go here, but I am so incensed by this riculous story that I had to come here to write this (admittedly poor) review. I do NOT recommend this one at all, unless you are a sucker for a terrrible storyline, I will continue to listen to the bitter end and will update if anything improves, but until then, this is my opinion and I'm sticking with it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Virginia S. O'Bryan
  • Virginia S. O'Bryan
  • 31-10-20

Great Series

Narration is excellent and the characters and verbal exchanges are well done. However, I am getting sick of the Carl Meeghan thread. The author needs to solve this already and move on.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lovebeck
  • lovebeck
  • 08-10-20

Political Correctness ruins books for me.

Predictable and quite a bit of political correctness. It was not a book I would recommend.