Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • First Girl to Die

  • A Completely Gripping Crime Thriller (Detective Morgan Brookes, Book 4)
  • By: Helen Phifer
  • Narrated by: Alison Campbell
  • Length: 8 hrs and 22 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (80 ratings)
Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
First Girl to Die cover art

First Girl to Die

By: Helen Phifer
Narrated by: Alison Campbell
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

One Left Alive: A Heart-Stopping and Gripping Crime Thriller cover art
The Girl in the Grave cover art
First Blood cover art
Dark House cover art
Lakeview House cover art
The Next Girl: Detective Gina Harte, Book 1 cover art
The Missing Ones cover art
Vanishing Girls cover art
Why She Died cover art
Dark Game cover art
Find Me cover art
What She Did cover art
Deadly Wishes cover art
A Litter of Bones: A Scottish Crime Thriller cover art
The Corfe Castle Murders cover art
The Lost Girls of Penzance cover art

Summary

Morgan shudders as she leans out of the window and takes in the familiar blonde curls and clear blue eyes of the fallen girl below. She knows this woman, and she realizes with sickening certainty that her friend is now gone forever....

When Detective Morgan Brookes is called to the scene of a suicide, she’s devastated to recognize the young teacher sprawled out on the grass like a broken doll. She hasn’t seen Brittany for years. Not since the tragic death of Morgan’s high school boyfriend ripped their friendship group apart. But when witnesses describe Brittany’s erratic behavior and jumbled speech that morning, Morgan is convinced the fearless, life-loving girl she once knew didn’t jump of her own accord.

Traces of poison found in Brittany’s blood prove Morgan’s theory right, but no one can find the source. Then Morgan uncovers a distinctive jar in Brittany’s home filled with toxic herbs, and the sight of it turns her blood to ice. She has a jar just like it, a handmade gift from her aunt. Is this a coincidence, a set-up, or could the only person she’s ever trusted with her damaged past be capable of murder?

Then another woman from Morgan’s past is found, close to the scene of that fatal teenage party. Has Morgan been looking at this all wrong? Are these deaths connected to that deadly night? And how could someone from her own family possibly be involved?

With her aunt’s freedom and more innocent lives at stake, Morgan must dig deep into her painful memories for answers. Who else was there that night, and what exactly did they see? She must stop this twisted killer before any more of her old friends become new victims - but at what cost?

An absolutely heart-stopping crime thriller, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Lisa Regan, and Rachel Abbott.

©2021 Helen Phifer (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about First Girl to Die

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant book

Absolutely love this
Just could not put this book down and I completely guess the wrong person (as usual) :)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

I absolutely loved this Audio Book great story the narrator really draws you in.
I enjoy listening to this book on my way to work.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fantastic

loved this book kept me on the edge of my seat the hole timeworth reading

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Amazing Read!

Now on to book 5! Its and easy listen, the characters are well described, you can imagine what they actually look like! Great Detective read with twists and turns...

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Better

Is it better or have I just listened into submission? This was the best of the scenarios but imagine my surprise at who it’s centred around (that’s not a spoiler).

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely loved this book!!!

I love all of Helen's work and didn't think anyone could beat Annie Graham as my fave character - that was until Morgan!
I don't want to leave any spoilers but the plot kept me hooked from the first to last page!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

must listen to this book

this book is really good to listen gripping and interesting but how much can happen to one person

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another good story

Another enjoyable story … I love the characters and enjoy seeing them grow and develop throughout the books

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

very slow

I have read more of these books with Matilda and unfortunately I found this one very predictable and slow, i will give the next book in the series ago and hopefully it will be better, overall rather disappointed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

it's all about the narrator for me

I can hardly remember what I expect might have been a fairly good plot because of the narrator and her childish voice. The only people that didn't sound like whining 5 year olds were her male characters.
I can't buy another title in this series while the same narrator is used.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!