Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Firewatching

  • By: Russ Thomas
  • Narrated by: Jamie Parker
  • Length: 10 hrs and 17 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (264 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Firewatching cover art

Firewatching

By: Russ Thomas
Narrated by: Jamie Parker
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

He is Watching You cover art
Dead Water cover art
Born in a Burial Gown cover art
The Crossing cover art
Breakneck Point cover art
Dead Man’s Prayer cover art
Truth and Lies cover art
Knife Edge cover art
The Viaduct Killings cover art
The Snow Killer cover art
You Can't Make Old Friends cover art
The Body in the Marsh cover art
A Bad Bad Thing cover art
The Dentist cover art
Rites of Spring cover art
Stay Buried cover art

Summary

One wrong move will ignite the city....

A body is found bricked into a wall of the Old Vicarage. From the state of the hands, it’s clear the dead man was buried alive. When the man is connected to an old missing person’s case, Detective Sergeant Adam Tyler is called.

After an ‘incident’, Tyler needs this case to go well in order to prove himself and get his career back on track. But he soon discovers that he has a connection to the case that hopelessly compromises him. Quickly deciding not to tell his superiors, and certain that he is the only one that can solve this, he must move carefully to find out the truth, without destroying the case or himself.

Meanwhile, someone in the city knows exactly what happened to the body. Someone who is watching Tyler closely. Someone with an unhealthy obsession with fire....

A taut investigative thriller bursting with character and tension, introducing an enigmatic, fresh lead detective unlike any you have met before. Perfect for fans of Adrian McKinty, Tana French, Steve Cavanagh and Sharon Bolton.

©2020 Russ Thomas (P)2020 Simon & Schuster UK

Critic reviews

"A pitch-perfect blend of the best of the old and the best of the new...I loved it." (Lee Child)

"Clever and compulsive." (Louise Candlish)

"It's everything you could want from a crime novel." (Sarah Ward)

What listeners say about Firewatching

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    142
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    44
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    154
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    127
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting “page turner”

Far more entertaining than I expected. Lots of cliches but I imagine it’s difficult to write without some cliches. I was about to buy the second book but one reviewer said the character , Adam, isn’t in it much! He’s the one I want to hear about. Maybe I’ll listen much later so it will seem like two distinct stories.

Good narration.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, well read. Well worth the listening.

Great moody narration of a really good story. Will definitely purchase this author's next offering.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So Good!

Great story, brilliantly narrated. Kept me guessing right to the end. Can't way for the next one!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb whodunnnit

I was a little nonplussed by the LGBTQ+ rating thing prior to listening. It is both incidental and important but matters nothing in terms of the story. LGBTQ+ readers/listeners can be clear all are mentioned, but it’s just a well spun whodunnit in the end

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Refreshing, truly interesting characters

I love the diversity- not being politically correct- but a genuine portrayal of the internal mind of the old lady whose mind is slipping away from her, and the detective who’s sexuality and quest to belief in his lovers is present. And, the plot is great.
I was searching for something imaginative - I found it.
A thank you to the author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Just about ok

Just about ok… Wouldn’t recommend to a friend, 2.5 stars only…. Weird sound effects, strange character voices…

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good but annoying in places

I got to say enjoy this book and grew attach to the characters. I will definitely revisit this series.

Unfortunately to me the sound effects didn't work was just very annoying. But maybe works for you. And a couple of times in the book. The story line got a little bit silly. In my opinion

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable, will buy the next in the series

Really enjoyed this story, it is a very nice twist from the usual and I shall buy the next in the series. Great narration spoiled only by the occasional terrible sound affect… very odd and possibly unnecessary?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Proper 'who done it ?"

Well narrated and kept me guessing until late in the story.. plenty of false clues and interesting use of Social media together with lots of blind allies... would definitely recommend.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great characters

I wasn’t sure I was going to like this when I started to listen but I soon found myself not wanting to stop. It’s got a good plot that keeps you guessing but the real strength is in the character development. Back stories are gradually uncovered as the story unfolds and the relationships between the characters become more nuanced. The narration is outstanding.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!