We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
Christmas on Coronation Street Audiobook

Christmas on Coronation Street

Regular Price:£11.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A wonderful Christmas gift full of nostalgia and charm, perfect for fans of Coronation Street and listeners who love fiction set in wartime.

Elsie Grimshaw lives in one of the worst streets in Weatherfield and is desperate to escape from life at home with a brutal father and the drudgery of working at the local mill. Grabbing at the slim chances that come her way, Elsie goes through the heartbreak of first love and her marriage to bad boy Arnold Tanner at only 16 years old and emerges, if not much older, then certainly wiser.

Going under her married name of Elsie Tanner, she and Arnold move in to No. 11 Coronation Street in 1939 as war breaks out. Her cheeky self-confidence immediately puts her at loggerheads with local busybody Ena Sharples and Annie Walker, landlady of the Rovers Return.

As Christmas approaches, the residents of Coronation Street must put their petty squabbles aside if they are to survive the worst that Hitler's Luftwaffe can throw at them. And as the Manchester Blitz grips their home town of Weatherfield, the residents must pull together to make this a Christmas to remember - for all of the right reasons....

©2017 HarperCollins Publishers Limited (P)2017 ITV Ventures Limited

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (9 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.7 (9 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Story
3.9 (9 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    eileen logan 19/12/2017
    eileen logan 19/12/2017 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "enjoyable and a must for coronation Street fans"

    A Coronation Street since the first episode and this brought back many good memories for me.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kirsty Morris 19/12/2017
    Kirsty Morris 19/12/2017 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, though could have been improved"

    A good well written story, although the cheery title masks some pretty grim tragedy that had me close to tears. The narration was good although the biggest let down was the lack of the story being told in a real 'northern' accent. it just didn't 'sound' like the Coronation street of Elsie Tanner and Ena Sharples.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.