Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Shortlisted for The Bloody Scotland Debut of the Year 2021

Longlisted for the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year 2021

Glasgow, 1932. When the son-in-law of one of the city’s wealthiest shipbuilders is found floating in the River Clyde with his throat cut, it falls to Inspector Jimmy Dreghorn to lead the murder case - despite sharing a troubled history with the victim’s widow, Isla Lockhart.

From the flying fists and flashing blades of Glasgow’s gangland underworld, to the backstabbing upper echelons of government and big business, Dreghorn and his partner ‘Bonnie’ Archie McDaid will have to dig deep into Glasgow society to find out who wanted the man dead and why.

All the while, a sadistic murderer stalks the post-war city leaving a trail of dead bodies in their wake. As the case deepens, will Dreghorn find the killer - or lose his own life in the process?

Edge of the Grave by Robbie Morrison is a dark historical crime novel set in Glasgow, 1932. A city still recovering from the Great War; split by religious division and swarming with razor gangs. For fans of William McIlvanney’s Laidlaw, Denise Mina and Philip Kerr.

©2021 Robbie Morrison (P)2021 Macmillan Publishers International

Critic reviews

"A mesmerizing debut. Early gangland Glasgow with the gloss razored off." (Peter James)

"A magnificent and enthralling portrait of a dark and dangerous city.... Chilling and brutal, but also deeply moving and, most importantly, beautifully written." (Mark Billingham)

"Peaky Blinders meets William McIlvanney in this rollocking riveting read." (Adrian Mckinty, best-selling author of The Chain)

More from the same

What listeners say about Edge of the Grave

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyable and Authentic

I have totally been absorbed in this book - although set in the 1930’s the problems faced by the police then easily transfer to modern times thus proving nothing is new. The characterisations and the ‘air’ of 1930’s poverty are excellent. A big shoutout to Angus King whose storytelling and narration was excellent

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

First World War

Really loved this book so real and sad .How war is a terrible thing the story was really good couldn’t stop listening to it The Narration was brilliant

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Whispera
  • Whispera
  • 15-06-21

Very good detective novel

I've been interested in reading about Glasgow, mostly thru crime novels and mostly that take place during very hard times in the past. I love thei Scottish quirky manner of speech, which is very melodic to me at times and lovely just to listen to. It takes me far away to another land, another time, another culture. Angus King is my favorite narrator. Hope to have more of this series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Steve Mac
  • Steve Mac
  • 08-07-21

starts off Super our

I'm a fan of the Tartan Noir genre. this started off super dark, even for a fan of the genre. It eased up as the book moves along but it was heavy to start. glad I stuck with it.