Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Discover a dramatic new mystery series set in a Cornish convent. Perfect for fans of Black Narcissus, Daphne du Maurier and Margaret Frazer.

The sisters at a lonely Cornish convent share a chilling secret they cannot confess...Sister Sophia is dead. Another disappears. And a mysterious last letter from a dying nun is sent to the prioress. Sister Joan has faced her own demons. Now she is sent to the convent to investigate, as well as teach the local children. There are whispers of virgin sacrifice and suicide, and the mother prioress certainly wears pink nail varnish. And who is the young man hiding in the bracken? 

Meet Sister Joan, a rebel nun who vows to find out the truth.

©2021 Veronica Black (P)2021 W F Howes

Critic reviews

“Outstanding.” (Publishers Weekly)

What listeners say about A Vow of Silence

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Utter twaddle!

I have never read a sillier story, totally ridiculous and not in a good way. I cannot understand how it got to be recorded when there are so many good stories out there. Record Margaret Frazer tales and give us something worth listening to! Nuns wearing nail varnish for heaven's sake. Whoever decided to include this should be sacked.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • M
  • 10-07-21

A Vow of silence

Good narration. An interesting and unusual mystery story for readers who enjoy a crime fiction without a lot of violence

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!!

I can never resist novels set in a religious community. I came across the Sister Joan books via an Amazon recommendation. They seem to be out of print except on Kindle. Second hand copies are all at least £25 and ship from USA, so I tried book 1 on Audible.
It was excellent! Really fresh and modern religious themes. Sister Joan is an amazing heroine. The natrator is excellent.
If only the 8 other books were on Audible. Surely they will be? or will be reissued in paperback? It almost tempts me to acquire Kindle even though I hatr reading on screens. But it is either that or going bankrupt on second hand prices.
But I am addicted now. I MUST have more of this series!!!!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Big Guy
  • Big Guy
  • 06-07-21

Sick. sick

Holy Catholic Bat Man. The Roman Catholic church covers up and buries murder and rape.

Book made me sick. Roman Catholic church buries murder, child slavery, rape and Gnosticism as an every day matter of course. May God forgive the author and publisher.