The Artorian Chronicles

6 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 19 ratings

Soldier of Rome Summary

Rome's Vengeance. In the year A.D. 9, three Roman Legions under Quintilius Varus were betrayed by the Germanic war chief, Arminius, and destroyed in the forest known as Teutoburger Wald. Six years later, Rome is finally ready to unleash her vengeance on the barbarians. The Emperor Tiberius has sent his adopted son, Germanicus Caesar, into Germania with an army of 40,000 legionaries. They come not on a mission of conquest, but one of annihilation.

With them is a young legionary named Artorius. For him the war is a personal vendetta; a chance to avenge his brother, who was killed in Teutoburger Wald. In Germania Arminius knows the Romans are coming. He realizes that the only way to fight the legions is through deceit, cunning, and plenty of well-placed brute force. In truth he is leery of Germanicus, knowing that he was trained to be a master of war by the Emperor himself.

The entire Roman Empire held its collective breath as Germanicus and Arminius faced each other in what would become the most brutal and savage campaign the world had seen in a generation; a campaign that could only end in a holocaust of fire and blood.

©2006, 2012 James Mace (P)2014 James Mace
Show More Show Less

Not an Audible member?

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
  • Book 1

    • The Legionary Book One of the Artorian Chronicles
    • By: James Mace
    • Narrated by: Nigel Patterson
    • Length: 12 hrs and 47 mins
    • Release date: 09-05-14
    • Language: English
    • 3.5 out of 5 stars 11 ratings

    Regular price: £13.59

  • Book 2

    Regular price: £24.19

  • Book 3

    Regular price: £18.29

  • Book 4

    Soldier of Rome: The Centurion cover art
    Not Available on
  • Book 5

    Soldier of Rome: Journey to Judea cover art
    • Soldier of Rome: Journey to Judea

    • By: James Mace
    Not Available on
  • Book 6

    Soldier of Rome: The Last Campaign cover art
    • Soldier of Rome: The Last Campaign

    • By: James Mace
    Not Available on