Floating Outfit Western Series

66 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 9 ratings

The Ysabel Kid Summary

The first book of the Floating Outfit series, in which three core members of the of outfit meet for the first time, directly following the Dusty Fog Civil War series. 

His father was Sam Ysabel, a wild Irish Kentuckian who’d come to Texas in the early days and rode as a scout to Jim Bowie. His mother was the daughter of Chief Longwalker and his French Creole squaw. That dangerous mixture of bloods produced a son who inherited the sighting eye of an eagle from the sure-shooting, rifle-toting Kentuckian stock. From the French Creole side he got a love of cold steel and the inborn knack of handling a knife. And from his Comanche grandfather he got his horse savvy and ability to read signs of where a buck Apache might falter.

His full name was Loncey Dalton Ysabel. Most men knew him as…the Ysabel Kid.

About the Author 

J.T. Edson was a former British Army dog handler who wrote more than 130 Western novels, accounting for some 27 million sales in paperback. Edson’s works - produced on a word processor in an Edwardian semi at Melton Mowbray - contain clear, crisp action in the traditions of B-movies and Western television series. What they lack in psychological depth is made up for by at least 12 good fights per volume. Each portrays a vivid, idealized “West that never was”, at a pace that rarely slackens.

©1963 J T Edson (P)2021 J T Edson
Show More Show Less
Not an Audible member?
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.