Showing results by author "Rory Clements"

Categories

All Categories

10 results
Sort by
    • Nemesis

    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Adam Sims
    • Length: 10 hrs and 13 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 56
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 52
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 52

    In a great English house, a young woman offers herself to one of the most powerful and influential figures in the land - but this is no ordinary seduction. She plans to ensure his death.... On holiday in France, Professor Tom Wilde discovers his brilliant student Marcus Marfield, who disappeared two years earlier to join the International Brigades in Spain, in the Le Vernet concentration camp in the foothills of the Pyrenees. Wilde secures his release just as German tanks roll into Poland. Meanwhile, a U-boat sinks the liner Athenia in the Atlantic with many casualties....

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • really good but

    • By Robert on 10-04-19

    Regular price: £28.99

    • Corpus

    • Tom Wilde, Book 1
    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Adam Sims
    • Length: 11 hrs and 48 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 162
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 146
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 149

    This big-canvas international spy thriller marks the beginning of a brilliant new direction for Rory Clements. 1936. Europe is in turmoil. The Nazis have marched into the Rhineland. In Russia, Stalin has unleashed his Great Terror. Spain has erupted in civil war. In Berlin, a young Englishwoman evades the Gestapo to deliver vital papers to a Jewish scientist. Within weeks she is found dead, a silver syringe clutched in her fingers.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • A promising start to a series

    • By Mr on 19-08-17

    Regular price: £27.99

    • The Queen's Man

    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Gareth Armstrong
    • Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 93
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 87
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 84

    From Rory Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, comes The Queen's Man, the sixth in his acclaimed bestselling John Shakespeare Elizabethan mystery series. England is a Judas nest of conspiracyIt is 1582, and the conflict between Protestant and Catholic threatens to tear the country in two. While Queen Elizabeth I holds the reins of power, there are those whose loyalty lies with her imprisoned cousin, Mary Queen of Scots.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Beware - order of books wrongly numbered.

    • By Annie on 12-08-17

    Regular price: £14.99

    • Nucleus

    • Tom Wilde, Book 2
    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Adam Sims
    • Length: 11 hrs and 43 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 90
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 85
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 86

    The eve of war: a secret so deadly, nothing and no-one is safe. June, 1939. England is partying like there is no tomorrow, gas masks at the ready. In Cambridge, the May Balls are played out with a frantic intensity - but the good times won't last. When one of Cavendish Laboratory's finest minds is murdered, Professor Tom Wilde is once more drawn into intrigue. In a conspiracy that stretches from Cambridge to Berlin and from Washington, DC to the west coast of Ireland, he faces deadly forces that threaten the fate of the world.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • well written... well told .....interesting period

    • By Keith M. on 28-02-18

    Regular price: £27.99

    • The Heretics

    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Gareth Armstrong
    • Length: 11 hrs and 38 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 107
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 98
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 100

    From Rory Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, comes THE HERETICS, the fifth in his acclaimed John Shakespeare Elizabethan mystery series. 'Does for Elizabeth's reign what C. J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Loved it

    • By Barbara Steffensen on 12-02-16

    Regular price: £14.99

    • Revenger

    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Peter Wickham
    • Length: 13 hrs and 1 min
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 130
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 122
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 121

    1592. England and Spain are at war, yet there is peril at home, too. The death of her trusted spymaster Sir Francis Walsingham has left Queen Elizabeth vulnerable. Conspiracies multiply. The quiet life of John Shakespeare is shattered by a summons from Robert Cecil, the cold but deadly young statesman who dominated the last years of the Queen's long reign, insisting Shakespeare re-enter government service. His mission: to find vital papers, now in the possession of the Earl of Essex.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • could be better

    • By Simon on 22-02-16

    Regular price: £14.99

    • Holy Spy

    • John Shakespeare 7
    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Gareth Armstrong
    • Length: 12 hrs and 10 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 150
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 136
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 137

    For fans of C J Sansom and S J Parris, Holy Spy features the Queen's Intelligencer John Shakespeare in the latest of Rory Clements' acclaimed and best-selling series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, "does for Elizabeth's reign what C.J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's" ( Sunday Times). In London's smoky taverns, a conspiracy is brewing: a group of wealthy, young Catholic dissidents plot to assassinate Elizabeth and free Mary Queen of Scots.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Excellent as always

    • By Dr on 15-03-15

    Regular price: £14.99

    • Traitor

    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Gareth Armstrong
    • Length: 12 hrs and 40 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 97
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 87
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 86

    The Elizabethan navy has a secret weapon: an optical instrument so powerful it gives England unassailable superiority at sea. Spain will stop at nothing to steal it and seize the two men who understand its secrets - William Ivory, the 'Queen's Eye', and the magician Dr Dee. With a second Armada threatened, intelligencer John Shakespeare is sent north to escort Dr Dee to safety. But he finds Dee's host, the Earl of Derby, dying in agony, apparently poisoned.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Traitor - left wanting more

    • By Mr on 13-04-13

    Regular price: £14.99

    • Martyr

    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Peter Wickham
    • Length: 12 hrs and 36 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 177
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 153
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 153

    Drake: Shakespeare is ordered to protect him. With Drake on land fitting out his ships, he is frighteningly vulnerable. If he dies, England will be open to invasion. In a London rife with rumour, Shakespeare must decide which leads to follow, which to ignore. When a high-born young woman is found mutilated and murdered at an illicit printing house, it is political gunpowder - and he has no option but to investigate.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Martyr

    • By fionavb on 27-09-15

    Regular price: £14.99

    • Prince

    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Jonathan Aris
    • Length: 12 hrs and 4 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 102
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 95
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 94

    Spring 1593. England is a powder keg of rumour and fear. Plague rages, famine is rife, the ageing Queen's couriers scheme: Elizabeth's Golden Age is truly tarnished. Meanwhile Spain watches and waits - and plots. Into this turmoil a small cart clatters through the streets of London, carrying a deadly load. It is the first in a wave of horrific bombing attacks on the Dutch immigrant community that will change John Shakespeare's life for ever.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Tut tut

    • By Barbara Steffensen on 08-03-16

    Regular price: £14.99