Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

It's never too late to live the dream.... 

Carla Sullivan’s 50th birthday is fast approaching when her whole world is turned upside down. Discovering her feckless husband is having yet another affair and following her mother’s death, she is in need of an escape. Finding an envelope addressed to her mother’s estranged sister Josette in the south of France gives Carla the perfect plan. 

Seizing the moment, she packs her bags and heads to Antibes to seek out the enigma known as Tante Josette. But as the two women begin to forge a tentative relationship, family secrets start to unravel, forcing Carla to question her life as she has always known it. 

A heartwarming tale on the beautiful French Riviera that will keep you guessing. From the best-selling author of Summer at Coastguard Cottages, The Little Kiosk by the Sea and Rosie's Little Cafe on the Riviera. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Fern Britton.

©2019 Jennifer Bohnet (P)2019 Boldwood Books Ltd

Critic reviews

"Unputdownable, a heartwarming story of love, family and friendship in the glorious south of France. What’s not to love!" (Lucy Coleman)

What listeners say about Villa of Sun and Secrets

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    188
  • 4 Stars
    76
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    174
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    165
  • 4 Stars
    73
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Predictable but still enjoyable

If you fancy an extended stay in the South of France, with an unchallenging, predictable but fair paced plot, I recommend this book. I listened to it free as it is in the Plus Catalogue section.

I liked all the characters, but the best part was the description of pool-side suppers, the ice-cold rose wine and the lovely food. It is never really tense and nothing bad happens.

The narration is definitely in the 'this is theatrical acting' zone, but JF is very good at all the accents, and switches effortlessly between say, Scottish, to French, or Italian, so there are no painful moments.

I really enjoyed it and the fact that is was free is a real bonus - thank you!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Wonderful listen

Dear Readers
Having spent five summers in Antibe with my beloved wife ,before she died last year, this book brought back glorious memories of our visits The story great in character and place ,filled me with joy.Thank you Author and Reader for the many hours spent in your company .No doubt I will return to re-read it again









2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

narration dreadful

couldn't finish this book due to the narration. Do the authors not listen to a sample before letting it go out to audible?

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another wonderful holiday book

Thought I had guessed the ending, how wrong I was, a twist around every corner. Ready for the next audio book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Struggled with the accents

I quite enjoyed the story although it was fairly predictable. I found the French and Italian accents were far too strong to be comfortable to listen to, authentic or not.
Apart from that the performance was good.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Didn’t finish

I struggled to tune into the narrator especially when she was doing the French accent. I returned , shame.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

story wained in last quarter

I enjoyed the story to start with and enjoyed the narrator. I started to get bored after 'the secret' was out and made the mistake of looking at reviews. One ruined the rest of the book by giving a huge spoiler for the only interesting bit left! Because of this I did not finish the book which I felt was dragging on anyway. There were lovely depictions of life in France but I was expecting an announcement that one character was an alcoholic, the amount of wine guzzled at every opportunity remarkable. It was a shame the thread about developing a guest house was not explored much further.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Somehow finished this

I think I only managed to listen to this because I'm desperate for a holiday somewhere sunny. 😂

Storyline is average, plods a bit and is quite predictable but fine for switching your mind off after work. I feel a significant amount of editing could still have been done, the character's actions/reactions are not believable, and there was a lot of 'we just need time to get to know each other' - could have been a drinking game, they said it so often.

However, what could have elevated this audiobook a little but actually made it worse was the cringey narration. Sometimes I almost thought the narrator had a tone of 'obviously this is what happens next, do you really need me to spell it out?'

Would not recommend. If you want a well-written book set in a Mediterranean villa for a bit of imaginary sunshine I suggest The Enchanted April.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it.

very good story but the narrator's accents were a bit strong until you got used to them. Nice that the story was about the "older generations" for a change.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

OK read

Story wasn't to bad with a little twist at the end. The narrator took a bit of getting used to though. Didn't seem to flow and left strange gaps in sentences . And I wasn't keen on the accesents.
Overall it was ok .

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marcia U. Glenn
  • Marcia U. Glenn
  • 27-09-21

I want more!

Ms. Bohnet speaks to every woman who has been taken advantage of by an all consuming and cheating spouse, showing that forgiveness and value of oneself can open a path to wonderful new beginnings!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 07-02-20

Villa of Sun and Secrets

Villa of Sun and Secrets. I tried several times to get into this book because the narrater was so over the top. I finally just read it. As the book progressed her voice settled a bit. I absolutely loved the book I did not want it to end. If you have been there you feel as if you are there again.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jude Caserta
  • Jude Caserta
  • 19-10-21

Good story, difficult listen

I really liked the story. It wasn’t sappy and always happy…it was real and heartfelt.

I was challenged by the narrator because she made the different accents harsh and occasionally difficult to understand. Personally, I find intonation better than thick accent to differentiate the characters. I would listen to a sample first and make your own decision.