Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

From the best-selling author of Villa of Sun and Secrets.

Take time out to find what makes you happy....

When retreat owner Amy offers three lucky competition winners a holiday on the Cote d’Azur, she has no idea that this act of kindness will have life-changing repercussions on her own life and those who join her....

Young entrepreneur Chelsea is still grieving the tragic loss of her mother and has just been subjected to a very public relationship breakup. She needs to get away and lick her wounds.

MP’s wife Victoria is at a crossroads in her life now that the children have left home. Much to her husband's shock, she realises she has ambitions of her own and is desperate to reconnect/find her own identity. She needs some ‘me time’.

Recently widowed, Matilda is assessing life without her beloved husband. Their dream had always been to retire to France. Can she find the courage to follow their dream on her own?

Over the course of the 10 days they spend together, the four women, despite their differences, support and bond, making memories and forming friendships that will last for years. 

A heart-warming, uplifting novel, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Fern Britton.

©2019 Jennifer Bohnet (P)2019 Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

What listeners say about A Riviera Retreat

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Rather disappointing

After having read A Villa of Sun and Secrets which I enjoyed enormously, I was really excited to be reading another of Jennifer Bohnet’s books but unfortunately this one just didn’t match up. I found it rather boring with too many similarities to the first book as I felt that I already knew all of the area, streets, villa and garden etc as the descriptions were so similar to the other book! I didn’t find there was much of a storyline, it was all very predictable and all rather bland. It took me forever to finish as I wasn’t very interested in picking it back up (and I’m an avid reader) so kept having to go back to what I had last remembered and was far from gripped. Maybe if it was the first of her books that you were reading, it would be a bit more enjoyable but sadly I won’t be buying any more of hers as yet as I had read on another couple of reviews about another of her books that it was the same story rehashed. A real shame.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable escapism

A delightful easy-listening story. The characters are beautifully crafted. I have just listened to all of Jennifer Bohnet's books on audible and find them utterly enchanting. I thoroughly recommend them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another excellent story

This is my third audio story by Jennifer Bohnet. If you love France get transported with her stories. The narrator is excellent, characters very believable and the stories centred around family, friendships and romance . I’m about to listen to the last audiobook by Bohnet…..please release some more!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • TD
  • 28-12-20

Didn't enjoy

Didn't enjoy listening to the narrator and decided to give up after a few chapters as couldn't get into the story at all.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not my sort of book really

not a book I will listen to again boring I kept losing track of who was who

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

A Riviera retreat

I felt I was there at the retreat, what friendships became was lovely, and the narrator was brilliant, the way she read the story she sold me, just loved it all.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K.
  • K.
  • 06-10-20

Can't listen

Sorry, didn't like the narrator. I am returning it. Odd intonations and emphasis and not the warm and pleasant experience I expected.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sissy
  • Sissy
  • 01-07-20

Fun Life Changing Retreat to the Riviera

Jennifer Bohnet has written an engaging, uplifting story that is simply delightful. Positive, life-changing events of the four well developed characters while being treated to the wonders of the Riviera. Insights into French village markets, shops,villas, and gardens, along with the sights and boulevards of Cannes, Antibes and Monaco. Beautifully written!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 10-02-20

A Riviera Retreat

A Riviera Retreat. I absolutely loved this book. The way this author writes you feel as if you are there. Wish it could have gone on for another few chapters. Great book to relax and lose yourself in. One of the best I have read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melissa
  • Melissa
  • 26-05-22

Awful narration

The narration was bad. She sounds like she has sinus issues, reads in jerky, loud, & disjointed statements. Hard to understand. French accent is horrible and sounds like choking. Could barely understand it. Despite the narration it was a cozy story. I hope there’s a sequel read by a different narrator.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robert Diehm
  • Robert Diehm
  • 01-05-22

Narrator challenging

I had read this book before and loved it. Because of eye issues I have switched to Audible. However I found the narrator chosen for the audio book too harsh for the feel of the story with awkward lilts and pauses, voicings that didn’t fit the characters and it just didn’t do it for me..haven’t finished and not sure I can. What a shame..great story. Mrs. Robt Diehm

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue
  • Sue
  • 10-03-21

A nice escape

A nice, easy listen. No drama. A little TOO perfect though, so leaves you a bit annoyed that every single character got every single thing they wanted in the end.. and I do mean every single character. If only life was this easy. A nice winter escape read - travel to the south of France - but I truly found myself annoyed at the end because it all turned out a bit too syrupy.