Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Unlost

  • A Journey of Self-Discovery and the Healing Power of the Wild Outdoors
  • By: Gail Muller
  • Narrated by: Gail Muller
  • Length: 10 hrs and 4 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (110 ratings)
Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Unlost cover art

Unlost

By: Gail Muller
Narrated by: Gail Muller
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Failure Is an Option cover art
Solo cover art
Bedtime Adventure Stories for Grown Ups cover art
Do Hope cover art
The Farthest Shore: Seeking Solitude and Nature on the Cape Wrath Trail in Winter cover art
Finding Hildasay cover art
Nowhere for Very Long cover art
A Walk from the Wild Edge cover art
Barefoot Britain cover art
The Pants of Perspective cover art
Adventure Revolution cover art
Coasting cover art
Coffee First, Then the World cover art
The Trail cover art
The Unlikely Thru-Hiker cover art
Ben Nevis to Kilimanjaro cover art

Summary

"Gail writes with humour, heart and passion." (Giovanna Fletcher, Sunday Times number one best-selling author)

Includes exclusive audio commentary from Gail straight from her trail experience

Gail Muller was told she’d be in a wheelchair by the age of 40. At 41, she set out to hike one of the world’s toughest treks: the Appalachian Trail - a 2,200-mile journey that would help her reclaim her life and heal her mind and body. An inspiring, moving, and uplifting memoir for fans of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love

As Gail took her first steps through the wilderness of the USA, she had no idea what lay ahead of her, but she knew she felt burnout from city life, lost and broken - ready to heal a mind and body that she had battled with for so long. 

From the resilience-building mountain climbs, painful injuries, and harsh reality of braving the raw elements, to the unexpected friendships forged with other hikers and the kindness of strangers offering food and shelter - with every step, Gail started to let go of a past dominated by chronic pain and reconnected with herself in a way she’d never been able to before. 

A love letter to the healing power of the wild outdoors and an incredible testament to the strength of the human spirit, Gail’s story is for anyone who has ever felt stuck in a rut, lost, or scared. She shows us that even in our darkest times, it’s possible to find our inner grit, face our fears, and feel hopeful.

©2021 Gail Muller (P)2021 Thread, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

More from the same

Author

Narrator

What listeners say about Unlost

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    90
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Inspired and hopeful

I really loved escaping onto the trail beside Gail. This book has allowed me to dream big. Brilliantly written and narrated. I am left inspired and hopeful on my own journey back home to myself.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful funny heartfelt story

I loved this audiobook. it was a great mix of adventure/travel and emotional journey while also being funny and just really enjoyable to listen to. I loved Gail's voice and how honest she was. Big thumbs up!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous!

Awe inspiring! Interesting and very engaging.
Gail is so likeable and honest.
loved it

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Honest and inspiring

Loved this honest and inspiring recount of life in trail.
More focused on the internal conquest.
4* given due to the amount of swearwords.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful and inspiring

Gail writes in a way that completely takes you along for the journey, I was gripped with joy, sadness, excitement and relief in various amounts throughout. Really makes a difference that the narration is bu Gail herself, highly recommend.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Tale of resilience

It's a fine account of Gail bettling to overcome the physical challenges life has set her. The emotion is laid bare, but that's her character. There are a couple of very tough passages to read, but they are essential to the story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well done Gail 👍🏼

I identified with living with chronic pain, heartwarming and inspiring, and very enjoyable, bless you!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful read

inspirational, you would not believe someone could have lived through so much crap & then rise above it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it! Beautifully written! 😊

Really made you want to walk! Great storytelling! Thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book! 🤗 Hope Gail does another 🤞🏻

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Powerful and Raw

Loved the book finished the audible version in a week. The bravery and courage it must have taken to undertake such a huge challenge I cant imagine. My favourite part was right at the end where the reflections of growing , learning and experiencing the full human self was beautiful.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!