Listen free for 30 days

  • The Weight of a Thousand Feathers

  • By: Brian Conaghan
  • Narrated by: Drew Dillon
  • Length: 7 hrs and 10 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A powerful, funny and moving novel from the author of When Mr Dog Bites and The Bombs That Brought Us Together. Perfect for fans of John Boyne, Patrick Ness and Malorie Blackman. 

Bobby Seed has questions. What's another word for 'thesaurus'? How can I tell Bel I want her as my girl friend, not my girlfriend? How much pain is Mum in today? Has she taken her pills? And sometimes, secretly, Why us? 

Bobby's little brother, Danny, has questions, too. Will Bobby let him have Rice Krispies for dinner? And can he stay up late on the computer? And why won't Mum's stupid illness just go away? But it's Mum's question for Bobby that could turn everything on its head. It's the Big One. The Unthinkable One. 

If Bobby agrees, he won't just be soothing her pain. He'll be helping to end it. Would he? Could he?

©2017 Bloomsbury (P)2018 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about The Weight of a Thousand Feathers

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The weight of caring

This is a beautifully written piece about being a young carer and living with that weight on your shoulders 24/7 It is written with empathy and understanding. It’s not an easy book, but certainly one which you will touch your heart and soul.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing story of a young carer

although listed as a young adults book, it is very relatable for anyone who has been a carer. great book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional listen

Most moving listen I’ve ever heard. Well narrated and so sensitively done. Have tissues ready,