Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

This is no ordinary love story and Sam is no typical hero...but he is a hero. 

Charming, quirky, and absolutely bursting with heart, this is the perfect book club read for fans of The Rosie Project, A Man Called Ove, and Eleanor Oliphant

Sam Holloway has survived the worst that life can throw at you. But he's not really living. His meticulous routines keep everything nice and safe - with just one exception.... 

Three nights a week, Sam dons his superhero costume and patrols the streets. It makes him feel invincible - but his unlikely heroics are getting him into some sticky, and increasingly dangerous, situations. 

Then a girl comes into his life, and his ordered world is thrown into chaos...and now Sam needs to decide whether he can be brave enough to finally take off the mask. 

Both hilarious and heart-warming, this is a story about love, loneliness, grief, and the life-changing power of kindness.

©2018 Rhys Thomas (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about The Unlikely Heroics of Sam Holloway

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a thoroughly enjoyable book.

I chose this book because it wasn’t about a 20 something year old single/yummy middle class mummy/repressed drudge, all of which are far too prevalent on audible. It looked different. It was about a bloke with a great three times a week habit, that is, being a super hero. Well what can I say? It sounded a hoot. And I do have to say some of his super hero adventures truly are! No spoilers here but the graveyard event had me crying with laughter. But more than this, here was a man who was sensitive, caring and hurting, and irritatingly unable to express himself. Yet as the story unfolds his super hero alter ego and his relationships change, not always with the best outcome. A cracking read, or listen in this case. Five stars from me for the pure joy of going on Sam’s adventure. And five stars to the narrator who handled this so beautifully. I miss Sam already.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Quirky, moving, funny

I liked the quirkiness of this book, not giving anything away but it’s a bit off the wall. The central character, Sam, is sad and funny and believable. I loved how Sam develops and changes as a character as the book progresses. Some parts of the book are also laugh out loud funny. If you like your characters to be real and capable of change you will love this book.