Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

To find the killer, he must lose his mind...

When a missing teenager is found on her parents’ doorstep, Jennifer Standing becomes the only survivor in an ongoing serial killer investigation led by Detective Inspector Matthew Myers. The case has nearly broken him. The faces of the victims haunt his every waking moment, and now, at last, he has the suspect in custody.

However, when another man’s body is found with Jennifer’s DNA on his skin, and the suspect refuses to talk, Myers is forced to let him walk free - a move that will push him to the very edge of sanity.

But when another teenager is reported missing, and new evidence is discovered, the truth becomes terrifyingly clear… the killer is still out there, and he won’t stop until Myers is destroyed.

How are the missing girls linked? Who was the silent man? And how far is the killer prepared to go to bring Myers to his knees?

Set where the gritty London suburbs meet the rolling countryside, this British detective novel is a breath-taking blend of suspense, action, and mystery with a dark twist that will keep you awake for nights on end.

The Silent Man is the first book in the brand-new British crime thriller series from award-winning crime writer J.D. Weston, author of the Stone Cold Thriller series and the Frankie Black Files.

The Harvey Stone series is perfect for fans of JD Kirk, LJ Ross, Peter May, and Damien Boyd.

©2020 John Weston (P)2021 John Weston

What listeners say about The Silent Man

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

superb detective story

one of the best detective story's I have listened to and I would highly recommend it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Story

I wouldn't normally listen to a detective novel but I really enjoyed this one. The narrator is excellent with a little bit of Michael Caine in his accent. I will watch out for the next book in the series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Listen

Well narrated, brilliant listen as always. Like Gregs style of portraying the book. Well recommended.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent detective novel

Had me on the edge of my seat from start to finish! Such a great story and it was a nice change to be rooting for the bad guys too!
Really well narrated by Greg, his voice is perfectly suited to this book! He has great character voices that are easily distinguished from each other and perfectly sets the tempo for each situation and bringing out the tension!
Thoroughly enjoyed and looking forward to more from this series.
This is my honest opinion on a free review copy.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thriller

Greg Patmore, bought the characters to life and made this book a great listen.

A great paced thriller, it had me on my toes. Between the characters and plot , I was hooked.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

my first one from this author it was really good and I could not stop listening will be downloading the next one

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great twists and turns - narration suits the story

I honestly thought it Micheal Caine narrating the book it just sounded so much like him. This story started of slow but really glad that I kept going with it and it got really involved with lots of twists and turns. Loved the way it really bought different underworld styles into it rather than just the basic ones.

I was given an a free review copy but this did not influence my review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a brilliant author.

I have just finished this book . couldn't put it down. The next is waiting.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fast paced thriller

This is an excellent book for thriller fans. Loads of action from start to finish, a mysterious anti-hero, a driven cop and a fair amount of gory bloodshed. There is torture involved but thankfully much of the most gruesome detail is left to the imagination. That said, there are some very violent scenes as you'd expect in this kind of thriller. I listened right through in one day and can't wait for the next one in this series.

The narrator, Greg Patmore, gives his usual top notch performance and keeps the listener immersed in the story.

I received a free copy of this audiobook at my request and am voluntarily writing an honest and unbiased review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

First Time

This was my first time listening to the police genre and found it quite enjoyable and how the story moved along at a great pace. The character building was decent enough for you to find out about certain people.

The narrator was decent enough to allow you to differentiate between characters

I’ll be trying more from this author !

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JM
  • JM
  • 08-04-21

Just Awesome

This was a great story with a very believable yet interesting plot. This book is very good. I also enjoyed the fact that it ended at the right time. It was not too short and was not too long. I will be looking to listen to more from the author. Greg Patmore did an admirable job narrating. I received this free audiobook in a promo, and I am writing my unbiased voluntary review,

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pattwee
  • Pattwee
  • 11-06-21

Intrique

A good story into the sordid world of power, alcohol , drugs and young girls. A wonderful twist to the story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for cora
  • cora
  • 31-03-21

Drugs drugs and more drugs

Excellent book excellent story excellent narration all rolled into one exciting book. I can’t wait to get into another book at the series with Harvey. So much right excitement and family and bad guys. I recommend this book and the rest of the Harvey series. Greg Pat more is an excellent Narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A. Chaps
  • A. Chaps
  • 29-09-21

Suspensful, enjoyable but not compelling.

The Audible version of “The silent man” was my first introduction to JD Weston.

This book kept my attention but could have a used a few less chapters and a few less descriptions.
It is a very fast moving story, suspenseful but a little convoluted at times, and a villain with more lives than a cat that just magically stays alive. I felt that police officer Myers character was more developed and more relatable.
The ending of this first book was unsatisfying for me and a little too mushy. Maybe the rest of the trilogy would salvage my opinion ?

The narrator did a decent job keeping the storyline entertaining but could use few more intonations to distinguish the characters.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Georgia McNabb
  • Georgia McNabb
  • 14-08-21

Great and very Different Crime Type Story

This book start out with the usual officers trying to track down criminals in a police investigation. Detective Myers is a single minded man who has a unique ability to put himself into the criminals mindset. Harry is a foster son to a Big time Crime Boss and a hitman. The story eventually gets to where another foreign group of criminals are targeting both the Criminal boss and the police so the two Harry & Myers team up . Narrator does a Great job with the characters voices and with the storyline.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K. Lewandowski
  • K. Lewandowski
  • 18-07-21

A superb mystery

With his heart heavy and his mind tormented, our police detective struggles to find resolution. He has a link and a suspect who remains completely silent. And his suspect, while not a good man, ends up assisting him when no one else would, with the notable exception of his very junior partner.