Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Secrets of Crestwell Hall

  • By: Alexandra Walsh
  • Narrated by: Emma Gregory
  • Length: 10 hrs and 51 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (33 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Secrets of Crestwell Hall cover art

The Secrets of Crestwell Hall

By: Alexandra Walsh
Narrated by: Emma Gregory
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Forgotten Palace cover art
The Catherine Howard Conspiracy cover art
The Wind Chime cover art
Secrets of the Mist cover art
Shadows in the Ashes cover art
Daughter of the Mists cover art
The Other Gwyn Girl cover art
A Time to Change cover art
The Lady of the Loch cover art
The House of Lost Wives cover art
Echoes of the Runes cover art
The Witch's Tree cover art
The Highgate Cemetery Murder cover art
Hiding from the Light cover art
A Court of Betrayal cover art
The Moon Gate cover art

Summary

‘A king adorns the throne… He has no subtlety, no grace but he does not deserve to die in the way that has been planned and this is why we shall stop them, our men, our kin and save us all.’

1605

Bess Throckmorton is well used to cunning plots and intrigues. With her husband Sir Walter Raleigh imprisoned in the Tower of London, and she and her family in a constant battle to outwit Robert Cecil, the most powerful man in the country who is determined to ruin her, Bess decides to retreat to her beloved home, Crestwell Hall. But there she is shocked to hear talk of a new plot to murder the king. So, unbeknownst to their menfolk, the wives of the plotters begin to work together to try to stop the impending disaster.

Present Day

Isabella Lacey and her daughter, Emily, are excited to be starting a new life at her aunt’s home, Crestwell Hall in Wiltshire. During renovations, Isabella discovers an ancient bible that once belonged to Bess Throckmorton, and to her astonishment finds that it doubled as a diary. As Isabella reads Bess’s story, a new version of the Gunpowder Plot begins to emerge - told by the women.

When Emily’s life is suddenly in terrible danger, Isabella understands the relentless fear felt by Bess, hundreds of years ago. And as the fateful date of 5th November draws ever closer, Bess and the plotters’ wives beg their husbands to stop before a chain of events is set into action that can only end one way…

This unforgettable timeslip novel is perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Elena Collins and Diana Gabaldon.

©2024 Alexandra Walsh (P)2024 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about The Secrets of Crestwell Hall

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

enjoyed the fact it was two stories in one

enjoyable listening not my usual type. A bit rushed at the end but the epilogue put more context in.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love it

This I is a great book, if you loved tha marquess house stories your love this book too! It follows the same format which I really like and there is the odd reference to the Marquess House characters too.
Really easy listening, listened to the whole book in one day, I couldn’t put it down.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A really good read! I learned a lot of history in an enjoyable way!

I liked that a lot of it was based on historical events and characters.
Very good narration.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The child’s voice. I dreaded to hear it

The supposedly child voice was very grating. Other than that well narrated
Other than already stated

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

I listened to this story while decorating/rearranging my house, I love the way the author has given a different perspective on the gunpowder plot.
The flow between now and then kept the story interesting and tied together perfectly at the end!

Really enjoyed it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love this author

love this author, her plots are so believable and characters have depth. Great listen, I can't wait for the next one to become available on audible as I have listened to them all now

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gunpowder

Excellent story as usual from this author. I love her historical dual time line themed. Thanks

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good

Really enjoyed this book. Very good and kept me entertained. I think for me what stood out is the sheer amount of historical research Alexandra Walsh undertook in ensuring the characters were correct. Whilst the actual story is fiction the characters are very much real from the gun powder plot. As a fellow historian I can only imagine how many hours must have been spent researching! Fantastic book highly recommend to anyone who enjoys history pieces. Can’t wait for the next book fingers crossed not too long!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Another cracking history meets fiction from Alexandra Walsh. Bringing things to life in such an illustrative way. More please

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely

Great story really enjoyable, very well read definitely worth listen, highly recommended you won’t be disappointed

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!