Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The pacy, evocative and romantic new dual-time novel from Christina Courtenay is perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Diana Gabaldon and Vikings.  

Their love was forbidden. But echoed in eternity.  

When Mia inherits her beloved grandmother's summer cottage, Birch Thorpe, in Sweden, she faces a dilemma. Her fiance Charles urges her to sell and buy a swanky London home, but Mia cannot let it go easily. The request to carry out an archaeological dig for more Viking artefacts like the gold ring Mia's grandmother also left her, offers her a reprieve from a decision - and from Charles.  

Whilst Mia becomes absorbed in the dig's discoveries, she finds herself drawn to archaeologist Haakon Berger. Like her, he can sense the past inhabitants whose lives are becoming more vivid every day. Trying to resist the growing attraction between them, Mia and Haakon begin to piece together the story of a Welsh noblewoman, Ceri, and the mysterious Viking, known as the 'White Hawk', who stole her away from her people in AD 869.   

As the present begins to echo the past, and enemies threaten Birch Thorpe's inhabitants, they will all have to fight to protect what has become most precious to each of them....

©2020 Christina Courtenay (P)2020 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about Echoes of the Runes

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Cliche

Whilst the storyline was good and I enjoyed listening there were too many cliche Mills and boon type moments. A bit repetitive in the ' she couldn't take her eyes off him but knew it could never happen' moments which for me let it down a bit. But a nice easy listen.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nice easy story to listen to.

I was only drawn to this audiobook because of the archeological side to it as I’m a bit of a history geek. I found it an inoffensive, easy listen which did keep me interested, however I found the story far too mushy and definitely a Mills n Boon cringeworthy too perfect ending.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

Wonderful historical I liked the two parallel stories. lovely voice cant wait to listen to another story

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Spellbinding

Loved everything about this. Storytelling was sensitive, credible and an easy voice to listen to.
The story kept me hooked and I really didn’t want it to end. It’s one of those books that I’ll come back to, probably in print so I can read again. Loved the history, the details of places, scenery and emotions. A wonderful mixture of relationships, that we can all relate to, that made me laugh and cry. It’s a great story from one of my favourite authors.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Disappointing narration

I really enjoyed the story, lots happening, well written and gripping. The narrator was pretty terrible. Her voices were irritating, she talked too fast and there was no flow between chapters. Several times it became incredibly confusing before I realised that she had switched to a different timeline with barely a breath between them
To be honest I only finished the book out of curiosity. The narrator really spoiled a great listen

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

enthralled

loved it will look forward to her next novel and immerse myself in her wonderfully narrated historical stories

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful story, beautifully narrated

Just loved it, the story the narration were perfect for me. If I had to sum this up in one word it would be Enchanting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb!

A fantastic love story and historic adventure, crossing centuries and bridging cultures. A must read for lovers of Norse history and/or Romance alike. Absolutely brilliant!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Really a great book and fabulous narration. The premise was so enthralling I couldnt stop listening. Really worth a read .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story - loved it

Loved the story and the characters. It did keep me on edge while I was listening to it. The narrator was amazing. Highly recommended this book to people who love history themed romance/adventure which overlaps with the present.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bronwynn Victoria
  • Bronwynn Victoria
  • 01-04-20

Vikings and reincarnation

This book was awesome and the narration was great! This is my favorite time period and the book also includes another favorite interest of mine....reincarnation. I thought how everything tied together was really fascinating. From start to finish this one captivated me and will be an all-time favorite.

3 people found this helpful