Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The pacy, evocative and romantic new dual-time novel from Christina Courtenay is perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Diana Gabaldon and Vikings.  

Their love was forbidden. But echoed in eternity.  

When Mia inherits her beloved grandmother's summer cottage, Birch Thorpe, in Sweden, she faces a dilemma. Her fiance Charles urges her to sell and buy a swanky London home, but Mia cannot let it go easily. The request to carry out an archaeological dig for more Viking artefacts like the gold ring Mia's grandmother also left her, offers her a reprieve from a decision - and from Charles.  

Whilst Mia becomes absorbed in the dig's discoveries, she finds herself drawn to archaeologist Haakon Berger. Like her, he can sense the past inhabitants whose lives are becoming more vivid every day. Trying to resist the growing attraction between them, Mia and Haakon begin to piece together the story of a Welsh noblewoman, Ceri, and the mysterious Viking, known as the 'White Hawk', who stole her away from her people in AD 869.   

As the present begins to echo the past, and enemies threaten Birch Thorpe's inhabitants, they will all have to fight to protect what has become most precious to each of them....

©2020 Christina Courtenay (P)2020 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about Echoes of the Runes

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Cliche

Whilst the storyline was good and I enjoyed listening there were too many cliche Mills and boon type moments. A bit repetitive in the ' she couldn't take her eyes off him but knew it could never happen' moments which for me let it down a bit. But a nice easy listen.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nice easy story to listen to.

I was only drawn to this audiobook because of the archeological side to it as I’m a bit of a history geek. I found it an inoffensive, easy listen which did keep me interested, however I found the story far too mushy and definitely a Mills n Boon cringeworthy too perfect ending.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

Wonderful historical I liked the two parallel stories. lovely voice cant wait to listen to another story

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Lovely narrator

I really enjoyed Echoes of the runes, I read it after destiny of the runes as I loved that story and the narrators voice. I do think the story could have described more about the characters and the definately the location of birch wood back in the viking times as at times it was hard to image the surroundings. But apart from that the storyline was good and flowed nicely. Great characters and great ending.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enticing story and a brilliant narrative

I loved the story and its participants not only because it is a very well written piece, but the narrative is great. I almost saw the events unfurling in my mind thanks to the appropriate intonations and accents.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Lovely read

I very much enjoyed this book. I haven’t come across many books based on archeological work or the vikings so it was something a bit different. Maybe slightly predictable at parts

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Spellbinding

Loved everything about this. Storytelling was sensitive, credible and an easy voice to listen to.
The story kept me hooked and I really didn’t want it to end. It’s one of those books that I’ll come back to, probably in print so I can read again. Loved the history, the details of places, scenery and emotions. A wonderful mixture of relationships, that we can all relate to, that made me laugh and cry. It’s a great story from one of my favourite authors.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Disappointing narration

I really enjoyed the story, lots happening, well written and gripping. The narrator was pretty terrible. Her voices were irritating, she talked too fast and there was no flow between chapters. Several times it became incredibly confusing before I realised that she had switched to a different timeline with barely a breath between them
To be honest I only finished the book out of curiosity. The narrator really spoiled a great listen

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another author new to me

Not quite up there with Barbara Erskine's earlier works, but I thoroughly enjoyed this listen. The storyline can't be faulted, one or two unexpected twists in there, overall really good. The narration lets it down, as half the time I thought I was listening to a 12 year old, with a high squeaky voice and it grated on my nerves, hence only 3 stars. Towards the end it improved; maybe the narrator was developing a sore throat? I will definitely be trying other offerings by this author, I just hope they have a different narrator.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nice easy listen

I chose to listen to this smbecause I enjoy dual time stories and Vikings. It was an easy listen and a nice story. But for the corny and predictable love plot it would have had 5 stars. Overall I enjoyed it though.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bronwynn Victoria
  • Bronwynn Victoria
  • 01-04-20

Vikings and reincarnation

This book was awesome and the narration was great! This is my favorite time period and the book also includes another favorite interest of mine....reincarnation. I thought how everything tied together was really fascinating. From start to finish this one captivated me and will be an all-time favorite.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Meg
  • Meg
  • 22-04-22

weak characters

The concept storyline was good but failed in depth of characters. It rushed to the end for sake of ending rather than natural character progression. Lots of inward groaning and eye rolls on my part. I prefer stories with more character depth.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Virginia Buchanan
  • Virginia Buchanan
  • 07-01-22

Love thisLove this book!

Really enjoyed both the presentation and the story. Have already purchased the next in this series.