Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Secret She Kept cover art

The Secret She Kept

By: Carly Schabowski
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard, Sam Alexander
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Rainbow cover art
All the Courage We Have Found cover art
The Watchmaker of Dachau cover art
The Silence Before Dawn cover art
The Note cover art
The Ringmaster's Daughter cover art
The Secret Letter cover art
The Postcard cover art
The Commandant's Daughter cover art
A Light in the Window cover art
What Only We Know cover art
The Wife Who Risked Everything cover art
The Fortunate Ones cover art
The German Wife cover art
The Secretary cover art
Beyond the Tracks cover art

Summary

Poland, 1939: As I stare into the German pilot’s frightened eyes, I realize I have no choice but to help him. And in that moment, I know that this young man, and this decision, will change my life forever....

When a German pilot crashes over my parents’ farmland, at first I am terrified. Who is this man? And should I help him or have him arrested? But when I look into his eyes for the first time, I feel in my heart that I must do everything I can to save this stranger’s life.

As I begin to secretly nurse his injuries, he tells me his name is Max. And as we share whispered candlelit conversations, he admits that he didn’t crash his plane, but parachuted over Poland to defect from the Nazis. And as he slowly tells me his story, I realize I am falling in love with this man–with his bravery and his determination to do what is right, no matter the cost.

But when the Nazis arrive, the small world we have built together is shattered in an instant. And when the Germans arrest my twin siblings and I, dragging us to a camp in the dead of night, I know that our only chance of survival, our only hope, is to be rescued.

As I sit in my cell, I think of what Max told me. He held my hand and promised me that if we were arrested, he would go undercover as a German soldier and save us. But will the guards believe his story? And, even if they do, will he make it to us before it is too late?

Based on a true story, this heartbreaking and emotional wartime novel follows one couple’s love story and their courage in the face of unimaginable odds. An incredibly gripping and moving story, perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Nightingale, and The Alice Network.

©2023 Carly Schabowski (P)2023 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about The Secret She Kept

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.