Listen free for 30 days

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

Narrated by: Ana Isabel
Length: 6 hrs and 25 mins
Categories: Children, Ages 8-10
5 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A lightning strike gave her a superpower...but even a super genius can't solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass one more test: middle school!

Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for one year. Make one friend. Join one activity. And read one book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in seventh grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.

An NPR best book of the year.

A Kirkus Reviews best book of the year.

"An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!" (Kate Beasley, author of Gertie's Leap to Greatness)

©2018 Stacy McAnulty (P)2018 Listening Library

Critic reviews

"Unique and utterly satisfying." (Kirkus Reviews)

"Prepare to fall in love." (School Library Journal)

"Fresh story, great characters, a winner!" (Barbara O'Connor, author of Wish)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A book about friendship

Great story about a girl who doesn't feel like she fits in and how she copes with it.
Good voice storytelling. Sad when it finished - want to find out what lightening girl does next.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A maths genius attends school - can she fit in?

A 'Wonder' for those with differences that we can't see... Lucy may not look like Auggie, but she is going to stand out in school like a sore thumb if everyone knows her for who she is. Since being hit by lightning, Lucy can do complicated maths instantaneously, recite Pi to hundreds of places and has already finished high school online, despite being only 12. But her grandmother is insisting she attend a 'real' middle grade school, to learn to fit in, make friends and experience a little 'real life' before she considers college in a year.

Dreading it, Lucy agrees, and from here on in, decides to keep her extraordinary abilities under wraps as she grits her teeth and enters the hell of school.

A story of being true to yourself and being proud of your abilities, it is also a story of a rather sweet friendship, as Lucy finds herself forming a connection with a few other students unexpectedly as they are forced together in a philanthropic class project.

It's only a short read for confident readers, but the unusual narrator will hook them, as will the story of a group of misfits, dogs, and even maths!

Loved Lucy, she's vulnerable but ridiculously capable but takes this with a punch of salt and is never arrogant about it. I also thought her friends were well-written and not the oft-seen cyphers. Her grandmother is also a real presence and more than a background necessity.

I would recommend this for ages 10-13 in particular, and though lovers of maths will definitely find an idol in Lucy, nobody will find themselves out of their depth for not being a whizz at arithmetic.

The Audible version was a very easy listen, with a narrator who conveyed Lucy's age as well as abilities, even managing to make her recitation of the digits of Pi enjoyable! She sounded like a teenager and added in the voices of the other characters to show distinct persons.

With thanks to Nudge Books for providing an Audible copy for review purposes.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for a reader from Miami, FL
  • a reader from Miami, FL
  • 24-05-19

great empowering atory

Great for girls and a pretty decent performance. The depth of relationship issues and questions that come up is good for kids about to go to middle school.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 18-03-19

Amazing

This author touches so many aspects of being a kid and truthfully, of being an adult, being human. LOVED IT! Needs to be shared with others, ones you know and ones you don’t!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SR
  • SR
  • 19-01-19

Great Book!

I really enjoyed this book. Is was a little heart wrenching at times but it is truly amazing and I recommend it!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ktbrew202
  • Ktbrew202
  • 01-11-18

5 star*

I loved it had some sad parts but it turned out happy good for any ages over 2. in my opinion

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rochelle
  • Rochelle
  • 26-12-19

book

this a very good book, I real good story even if I'm 72 years old, listen 2 times more. I will keep on listening to it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elin Ballesteros
  • Elin Ballesteros
  • 07-04-19

SO AMAZING!

Engaging and interesting, the story line is unique. My son, a reluctant reader, and daughter, both loved this book. I am excited to share it with my students as well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wooju Jeong
  • Wooju Jeong
  • 13-05-19

the best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!<br />

very interesting i love math it is the best thing that i could learn !!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 26-01-20

My daughter doesn’t really love too many books

She absolutely loved this book!!! Thank you Stacy we will be reading the world ends in April next and are looking forward to being engulfed in Elle’s world 💗

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for B Rich
  • B Rich
  • 14-01-20

A classic middle school angst story with a twist

I love the fact that the hero is a math whiz and a girl. This view into the mindscape of a savant who also has to deal with issues related to OCD AND the classic middle school hell is entertaining. This book will endear listeners to the beauty of math and the use of pi as either torture or a filter/vent mechanism is clever.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jason L. Briggs
  • Jason L. Briggs
  • 07-01-20

Darling

Delightful read! I love middle readers like this. It was multi-dimensional, charming, witty, and fun. It offered life lessons,while also adding humor and quirk. Perfect read for me coming off of two heavy books! This author is creative with her incorporation of math.