Listen free for 30 days

The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman

Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (214 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

No one keeps more secrets. No one is better at hiding them. Haunting, evocative and beautifully written, The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman will grab you and not let you go. Full of twists and turns, with an ending you will never see coming and characters that will stay with you long after the audiobook has finished, The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman is a gripping psychological mystery perfect for fans of Emma Cline's The Girls and Clare Mackintosh's I See You.

'Utterly absorbing and original' Elly Griffiths, author of the Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries.

Eighteen-year-old Hattie Hoffman is a talented actress, loved by everyone in her Minnesotan hometown. When she's found stabbed to death on the opening night of her school play, the tragedy rips through the fabric of the community.

Sheriff Del Goodman, a close friend of Hattie's dad, vows to find her killer, but the investigation yields more secrets than answers: it turns out Hattie played as many parts offstage as on. Told from three perspectives, Del's, Hattie's high school English teacher and Hattie herself, The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman

Wonderfully evocative of its Midwestern setting and with a cast of unforgettable characters, this is a book about manipulation of relationships and identity; about the line between innocence and culpability; about the hope love offers and the tragedies that occur when it spins out of control.

©2017 Mindy Mejia (P)2016 WF Howes Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    111
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    101
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I never give 5star reviews but this book deserves *****
Very well written, great combination of sparse and lyrical prose, well plotted story rising and falling in tension to an unexpected conclusion. The story is not original but the revealing of each characters part in the story, their motivations and intentions make it fresh, engrossing and utterly believable. The characters are very well developed and feel grown & grounded in the rural landscape they inhabit. Superbly told by all narrators.
I'm eager to read/listen to Mindy Mejia's next novel.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WHAT A FIND

I chose this as love Jeff Harding narration. This production, with 3 narrators was excellent. the writing crisp and a "page turner". SO enjoyed the whole thing.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nicely written - well narrated

Really enjoyed this one.
Some of it was a bit overlong (generally the "Hatty" parts) but I took that as part of the story as probably a "Hatty" would talk like that.
Liked the fact that the voices were so different from each other.
Didnt see the ending coming either - so all in all a good listen

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous

A fabulous story that gripped and intrigued from the opening lines and detailed brilliantly the frailty and complexity of human behaviour.
Don’t listen if you don’t like split narration but, for me, this book was only enhanced by the three handed input which made the characters more real and immediately accessible.
Particularly liked the sheriff’s contributions which showed his grizzled, down to earth but humane personality.
Will definitely look out for more by this author who clearly has the ability to tell a great tale and understands how actions can ripple outwards to touch others with disastrous consequences.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An unexpected twist at the end

I loved this book! The story itself is not a new one but the telling of it, from the viewpoint of each of the 3 main characters, is thought provoking and interesting. I came up with a number of theories about the murder & murderer throughout the book, not one of them correct! Just when the story seems all neatly tied up there’s yet another twist - I really didn’t see that one coming - the repercussions of this could be devastating but it is handled with great sensitivity and the story is brought to a satisfying end.
Mindy Mejia’s writing is very atmospheric and the claustrophobic nature of small town living is expertly conveyed, it draws you in completely. I would love to read more books with Sherriff Del Goodman as the investigator.



3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Great detective story that doesn’t rely on gruesome details. Keeps you guessing without relying on convoluted switches in the story to fit the ending. Very well narrated by all three actors. Highly recommend.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • T
  • 30-11-18

Great Book

Loved the story, a few twists and turns, and narrated very well. A credit well spent, which lately has not been the case!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Dairy Queen . . .

Story was pretty good with a nice twist at the the end. What was off-putting however, was the copious amounts of times Dairy Queen was plugged! Product placement is already everywhere, now it invades our final escapism :(

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved every aspect

Great story told from several perspectives. Kept me guessing right to the end; very hard to put down. Great cast of likeable characters that were really bought to life with the fantastic narration throughout. Will eagerly await the next book by the same author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Extremely enjoyable

Loved this book. Give it a go you won’t be disappointed. I must look out for more books by the author