Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Fading of the Light

  • The Sprindrift Trilogy, Book 2
  • By: Charlotte Betts
  • Narrated by: Emma Powell
  • Length: 10 hrs and 44 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Fading of the Light cover art

The Fading of the Light

By: Charlotte Betts
Narrated by: Emma Powell
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Light Within Us cover art
The House in Quill Court cover art
The Lost Daughter of Venice cover art
The Apothecary's Daughter cover art
The Palace of Lost Dreams cover art
The Dressmaker's Secret cover art
Millie cover art
The Midnight Rose cover art
The Butterfly Room cover art
The Family Shadow cover art
The Seven Sisters cover art
The Memory Box: A beautiful, timeless, absolutely heartbreaking love story and World War Two historical fiction cover art
The Light Behind the Window cover art
The Olive Tree cover art
The Widow of Larkspur Inn cover art
The Murders at Fleat House cover art

Summary

From the award-winning author of The Apothecary's Daughter comes The Fading of the Light, the next book in the Spindrift Trilogy - a beautifully evocative family drama, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Lucinda Riley and Elizabeth Jane Howard's Cazalet Chronicles.

1902. Spindrift House, Cornwall

Edith Fairchild, deserted by her feckless husband, Benedict, eight years before, has established the thriving Spindrift artists' community by the sea and found deep and lasting love with Pascal. They have accepted that they cannot marry, but when Benedict returns unexpectedly to Spindrift House, all Edith and Pascal's secret hopes and dreams of a joyous life together are overturned.

Benedict's arrival shatters the peaceful and creative atmosphere of the close-knit community. When Edith will not allow him back into her bed, the conflict escalates and he sets in motion a chain of tragic events that reverberate down the years and threatens the happiness of the community forever....

©2021 Charlotte Betts (P)2021 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"A stunning and captivating read...full of drama, love, loss and life." (Book Literati)

"Lush, romantic and full of intrigue." (Tracy Rees)

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about The Fading of the Light

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

As good as the first book.

Love the Spindrift story and how all the characters are developing. They feel like friends. Looking forward to listening to book 3, though I feel I shall be sad when the trilogy ends. Wonderful narration, the same reader throughout gives it consistency.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good bedtime story

Easy listening.... Puts me to sleep.. In a good way. Third book from this author I've listened to.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!