Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Couple

  • An Unputdownable Psychological Thriller with a Breathtaking Twist
  • By: Sarah Mitchell
  • Narrated by: Katie Villa
  • Length: 9 hrs and 59 mins
  • 3.8 out of 5 stars (129 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Couple cover art

The Couple

By: Sarah Mitchell
Narrated by: Katie Villa
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Perfect Girlfriend cover art
The Lodge cover art
The Party on Laurel Street cover art
The Wedding Guest cover art
The Nanny cover art
The Suspect cover art
Her Last Secret cover art
Happily Married cover art
The Perfect Sister cover art
The New Girl cover art
The Wedding Day cover art
Little Ghosts cover art
The Invite cover art
The Daughter-in-Law cover art
The Nurse cover art
Let Me In cover art

Summary

Whatever you think you know…you’re wrong.

Following a whirlwind four-month romance, lawyer Claire and hotel entrepreneur Angus are engaged to be married. Happy and successful, and ready to start their new life together, Claire and Angus find what they believe to be the perfect home.

But when Claire meets Mark, the man selling them the house, he looks eerily familiar. He looks exactly like the man she loved five years ago, the man she couldn’t bear to lose.

As Claire finds herself irresistibly drawn to Mark and crosses lines she never thought she’d cross, Angus’ behaviour becomes increasingly suspicious. Soon Claire doesn’t know whether she can trust Mark, Angus…or even herself.

The Couple is a psychological thriller with a stunning twist, perfect for fans of The Girl Before, The Wife Between Us, and The Woman in the Window.

"I got so pulled into The Couple I read it in one go – great twist!" (Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange)

©2019 Sarah Mitchell (P)2019 Bookouture

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about The Couple

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    12
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    13

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great narrator

best narrator ive heard yet by a million miles... good story too. i do recommend!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant !!

couldn't stop reading this book thoroughly enjoyed it.recommend this if you like a thriller with a twist .

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly Recommend

I very much enjoyed this thriller story and the narrator was perfect for this book!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

what an ending

definitely not the ending that I was expecting, I couldn't put the book down, such a captivating story, full of so many twists and turns it was hard to leave it alone! Great story, fantastic narrator

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

the narrator in this book is great, and although really far fetched, I loved it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

great narrator but the story isn't very deep

Don't get me wrong it was a good story but it missed the detail and depth I like in a book. I didn't get a sense of her feelings towards people and herself and she didn't question the weird things people did. Other things were left unanswered, so after being made a big deal of, I didn't get why it wasn't mentioned again. Maybe I missed something but it didn't stop me listening to the whole book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Completely unbelievable yet gripping

The story line is so unbelievable it's almost funny at times, it's impossible to comprehend how anyone could get so caught up in that kind of situation. The 5 years earlier bits were confusing and the last bit in particular I actually didn't fully get to be honest. Despite its flaws, it was quite gripping and I wanted to know how it ended. The narrator was fairly good expect for the Scottish accent.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible, waste of 10 hours

The story was disappointing and boring. Totally unsatisfied and unimaginative writing.
There was also a buzzing sound throughout most of it in the background which was very distracting.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Will never get the time (or the credit) back

The narrator was so good that I carried on listening to what was the most unbelievable and mind numbing novel I have ever had the misfortune to spend time listening to. Please can Katie Villa read some good books so that her performance is justified? I know that I am at odds with others over this book but would like to bear warning to those who read the reviews and think they are in for an 'unputdownable psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist'!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not enough substance

I never felt fully connected with the characters which makes this very unbelievable and forgettable. However a good performance and an easy listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!