Try an audiobook on us

The Boneyard

Narrated by: Stevie Lacey
Length: 11 hrs and 41 mins
4 out of 5 stars (44 ratings)
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The truth won't stay buried forever....

Malcolm Kendwick is charming, handsome - and a suspected serial killer.

When chillingly charismatic Kendwick arrives back in Devon after being deported from the US, DI Charlotte Savage is tasked with keeping a close eye on him. There wasn't enough evidence to convict Kendwick for the crimes committed in America, but Charlotte is determined to find out the truth.

Days later, the partially clothed body of a woman is discovered out on the moor. All eyes are on Kendwick - but he has an alibi. Then human bones are found amongst the rusty remains of old wrecked cars at an isolated dumping ground, and a major murder inquiry is launched.

But when the killer gets too close to home, Charlotte is forced to change tactics. Is there a limit to how far she'll go? Especially to find out what Kendwick is hiding?

A terrifying crime thriller with a gripping twist, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Tim Weaver.

©2017 Mark Sennen (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jo
  • leicester, United Kingdom
  • 19-07-17

Enjoyable

Another book in the series, not sure if I enjoyed this one quite so much! I wonder where the main character will end up as her behaviour is getting more and more extreme and considering she's a police detective inspector I'm not sure how believable it is (maybe I am too naive?)
Good narration as usual although some of the 'villains' are starting to sound the same!
Would get the next book but hoping that she puts in some new ideas rather than rehashing old ones

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Leslie
  • Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • 24-11-17

Awesome

Suspend your disbelief and you will enjoy this romp around Dartmoor 👀 minus the cool ponies

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A book of two halves

For me this was potentially a good story but half way through - when the American character is introduced then credibility takes a nosedive with the main character acting totally against training and common sense. Shame as otherwise could have been a good listen. Narrator very good accents and characterisation so highly listenable.

Absolutely brilliant !!!!!!

Took one day to listen too, great character and a brilliant well told story x