Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Sky in the Deep in this bewitching historical horror novel, perfect for fans of Holly Black and V.E. Schwab.

Seventeen-year-old Aderyn ("Ryn") only cares about two things: her family and her family's graveyard. And right now, both are in dire straits. Since the death of their parents, Ryn and her siblings have been scraping together a meager existence as gravediggers in the remote village of Colbren, which sits at the foot of a harsh and deadly mountain range that was once home to the fae. The problem with being a gravedigger in Colbren, though, is that the dead don't always stay dead.

The risen corpses are known as "bone houses", and legend says that they're the result of a decades-old curse. When Ellis, an apprentice mapmaker with a mysterious past, arrives in town, the bone houses attack with new ferocity. What is it that draws them near? And more importantly, how can they be stopped for good?

Together, Ellis and Ryn embark on a journey that will take them into the heart of the mountains, where they will have to face both the curse and the deeply-buried truths about themselves. Equal parts classic horror novel and original fairy tale, The Bone Houses will have you spellbound from the very first minute.

An instant IndieBound best seller! 

©2019 Emily Lloyd-Jones (P)2019 Little, Brown Young Readers

Critic reviews

"The Bone Houses is an atmospheric and enthralling tale about life after death that mixes thoughtful characterization with whimsy, horror, and a dash of magic. Emily Lloyd-Jones instantly transports you to a northern Wales of old where the dead rise and legends may turn out to be histories. It pulled me -- and every bone I possess -- in from the start and refused to loosen its hold. It's a book best consumed with the lights on and a hand to hold. You'll definitely need them!" (Kalie Young, Barns & Noble at the Grove, LA)

"Throw excellent world-building, action-packed prose, and incredible representation for chronic pain into a cauldron, and you'll get The Bone Houses, a masterclass on the epic journey archetype with plenty of surprises in store." (Sami Thomason, Square Books)

"A dark, mesmerizing fairytale reminiscent of the Grimm Brothers, the Brontes, and Neil Gaiman in turn. The Bone Houses is a haunting and hypnotic novel that I drank deeply and savored. Emily Lloyd-Jones is an author who should be on everyone's radar." (Mackenzi Lee, NYT best-selling author of The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue)

More from the same

What listeners say about The Bone Houses

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

This is an amazing audiobook. Love love love it. This needs to be read by everyone.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 31-12-19

Good for those who don't like YA

This book has beautifully written and eloquent prose that reads a bit more like an adult book than a young adult book. It begins a bit slow, but instead of being action driven, this book really shines in it's emotional intelligence. The characters are believable and relatable, the author steers away from many cliches. I loved Ellis and his softness as a male character. The ending is really nice and has a beautiful message. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a fresh perspective on the fantasy genre.

50 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Crystal  Sanchez
  • Crystal Sanchez
  • 09-12-19

It's has a GOAT!!!

This book was like a cupcake with a surprise filling. It was sweet, creepy, and funny. My favorite part was the goat. I listened to the audio and it was quite entertaining. It had heart and a tad of romance. There is an amazing water scene that had me gasping for air as I am afraid of lakes and the ocean. It was never dull and did a wonderful job explaining the story without too much fluff.

42 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Erin Rapp
  • Erin Rapp
  • 27-01-20

Sabriel with zombies, meets Lord of the Rings

I flew through this book! The story was compelling and the performance was excellent. This book was more humorous than I expected, for a story about zombies. Highly recommend

29 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. Nor
  • C. Nor
  • 18-01-20

Incredibly well written fairy tale-like story

This book was simply beautiful. It's told in a fairy tale like way, but is not a childrens tale. Magic is accepted as a reality for the mc but the memory of it is fading for others. Our heroine is unabashedly herself, strong, fierce, smart and brave. She protects, defends, rescues and pushes for resolution of the cause of her troubles. A wonderful potential love interest arrives in the form of a mild-mannered mapmaker. And the resultant adventure the two take is fairy-tale epic. The writing was pristine, the tone warm and true to character. The narration was among the best I've heard.

26 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Avaraen
  • Avaraen
  • 17-05-20

Welsh myth based fiction, a rare gem!

Great story and characters. It not often you find stories set in Wales using welsh myths as inspiration. I’m also very impressed with the reader’s pronunciations of the welsh words. I enjoyed every minute of the book!

22 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrew
  • Andrew
  • 20-02-20

If you miss Nix' Old Kingdom

Nix will probably never take us back to the Old Kingdom. Even if he does, the journey will not mirror the exhilaration of the first four installments. "The Bone Houses" is about as close as we will get to a weekend holiday north of Ancelstierre. Old kingdom nostalgia is not the books only appeal; it does offer wonderful world building, unique mythology and an undead goat for comedy's sake. These delights are neither too elaborate to get lost, nor too vague to comprehend. This author manages balance well. This is a YA novel, but it is gritty and tactile in a way that welcomes adult readers. IF YOU ARE A BOARDGAME PLAYING, GRIM DARK LOVING DUDE WITH A MIDDLE SCHOOL TO EARLY HIGHSCHOOL AGE DAUGHTER, GRAB THIS BOOK AND READ HER A BED TIME STORY, ALOUD.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Younghee
  • Younghee
  • 19-04-20

Bone gooooaaaaaaatttttttt

A good novel. A little slow in the beginning, but picks up towards the end. If anything, listen just for the goat.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 08-05-20

my thoughts

Good story overall, just not one I couldn't set down. enjoyed listening too but not my favorite and not sure I'd read again.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TheChelle
  • TheChelle
  • 27-04-20

Zombies + Fantasy = Win!

This was part of a book club read and I was pleasantly surprised by the subject matter. The fantasy take on the undead was refreshing. It was evident that a great deal of time was put into building out the world and characters, the settings used. The descriptions were immersive, making me feel as if I were the characters experiencing this wild adventure of life and death. The only issue I had was that the narrator sometimes slipped into similar tones when speaking the male character parts so it was difficult to determine who was speaking until it was stated. Otherwise, it was a highly enjoyable listen.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robyn Gregg
  • Robyn Gregg
  • 29-10-19

Lovely Read

I really enjoyed this booked. A beautiful song and dance between life and death. All the good, bad, loving and devastating parts of both. The drama was believable and simple yet kept me engaged. Nothing about any of the character/relationship developments felt forced at all. I've been looking for a good stand alone story and this was a great one. Thanks to OwlCrate!

9 people found this helpful