Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession by best-selling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential listening for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

The young woman who changed the course of history.

Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne draws attention at the English court, embracing the play of courtly love.

But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game.

Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown - and the crown is what she seeks. At any price.

Anne Boleyn. The second of Henry's Queens. Her story.

History tells us why she died. This powerful novel shows her as she lived.

Six Tudor Queens. Six novels. Six years.

©2017 Alison Weir (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life." The Guardian)

What listeners say about Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    191
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    167
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    11
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    187
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well written, terribly read.

If you're familiar with Weir you'll know what to expext: the writing's ok, especially if you're into Tudor tales anyway.
However, the reading is awful, with pantomime-style voices and no interpretation of the writing at all.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wonderful fresh telling

Very interesting to to have Anne approached in a way that contrasts the many other novels of her life.
Alison Weir has long been my favourite author of historical fiction, and I have enjoyed the first two books in the 6 wives series almost as much as innocent traitor, which I still believe to be her finest work.
I enjoyed the performance of Anna Bentinck, but the version I listened to needs editing, there are several mistakes and even a double take of the same initially mispronounced sentence.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

badly edited

afew times there are repeated lines and other odd bits in it but overall its okay

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enchanting

Couldn't stop listening, I'm a little familiar with Anne's story so it was amazing to hear her fleshed out as the whole person she was. Anne like Catherine was a victim of patriarchal rule, she was murdered by the state when her body didn't do what the powerful men around her wanted. It's emotional to listen to her terror while imprisoned and infuriating to hear her so elequently and intelligenty defend herself in that shame trial. This audiobook is a brilliant tribute to an incredible woman, even with the occasional recording mistakes and the drums at the end, which are a little jarring. I'lll listen again and again, amazing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

What a wonderful and well narrated audiobook that brings Tudor life alive in your imagination as the colourful description of life at court under Henry VIII at the battle between the Kings Will and His Wives unfolds

Great listen :)

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

The story is amazing. Not completely on board with Anne Bentinck but I think that's more a matter of preference.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Powerful and sad

As always Alison Weir has written a compelling story. I have listened to it several times. I have 5 of the 6 wives set but find myself going back to this. Can’t wait for Katherine Parr next.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

not guilty.

easy book to listen to. Lady Anne voice changes through her moods and thoughts. Her last days are very dramatic and hard to listen to as you feel her fear. I fear her demise was that she was jealous of others and trying to rule with King Henry. These thoughts where before her time as women should not know of political thoughts or even voice them. King Henry had to have her killed as she would be dangerous.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

An amazing book. From start to end it gripped me into hearing more. The ending of book is something that will stick with you for a while so bare that in mind.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Anne Boleyn much maligned ..,

Well written and well read.

Poor Anne Boleyn falsely accused of adultery and incest.

Alison Weir mixes fact and fiction together into a tale which kept me entertained while I did mundane tasks during lock down.

Did Anne deserve her fate? Or was she just an insecure pawn? Personally I think she was a pawn used by both her family and the king. A sad ending.