Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

As the war approaches its end, Prince once more has to risk everything. 

Berlin, 1939: a German intelligence officer learns a top agent is quickly moving up the British Army ranks. He bides his time. 

Arnhem, 1944: British paratroopers have been slaughtered in one of the bloodiest battles of the Second World War. A shell shocked officer is convinced that the Germans knew they were coming. 

But who betrayed them? 

Back in London, Richard Prince, detective and spy, is approached by MI5 about a counterintelligence operation. Information is leaking, and British troops are dying. Prince has to stop it, and crack the suspected spy ring at all costs. But in the world of espionage, nothing is as it seems.... 

The latest WWII espionage thriller from Alex Gerlis is perfect for fans of Robert Harris, John le Carré and Alan Furst.

©2020 Alex Gerlis (P)2021 W F Howes

Critic reviews

"A spy character to rival those of John le Carré, Philip Kerr and Alan Furst." (David Young, author of Stasi Child)

What listeners say about Ring of Spies

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent book!

This book is so well written, every character has their own story, I really hope there’s a book 4 soon

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this Trilogy

Richard Prince, believable, great story writing, well narrated and very compelling listening in the car.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NE124
  • NE124
  • 16-05-21

Outstanding series..

Don't write many reviews but feel the 3 books in the Richard Prince series deserve recognition for being well written and read, with a story arc and characters that are interesting and well developed. Have not read many books that capture so well the tensions and tedium of spying and surviving during war time and behind enemy lines. The series also explores aspects of the second world war relatively unknown to me -- even at this point in my long listening experience! Highly recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for s good
  • s good
  • 26-04-21

good

I really liked the first 2 in the series a little bit better... this one was a bit confusing at first and at various times, and you really need to pay attention to keep up with what's going on.
I love finding an espionage series and/or author who writes such that are more "old school" like le'carre. In my opinion, Mr. Gerlis and his SPY NOVELS fit both categories. The 3 AUDIOBOOKS published so far in this series are seemingly overlooked GEMS of old school espionage, as they have little to no reviews YET . The treasure trove of factual events and information in these fiction books make them all the better to get STUCK into.😉😎 THE NARRATION is just right for the GOINGS on and the era.
** TO SHELLEY and WAYNE, MY 2 favorite AUDIBLE REVIEWERS: I THINK THIS SERIES AND ALSO THE OTHER AUDIOBOOKS BY ALEX GERLIS THAT ARE AVAILABLE ON AUDIBLE ARE RIGHT UP YOUR ALLEY...🤗

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Clifford K.
  • Clifford K.
  • 09-06-21

a good continuation with some excellent characters

Lots of good reoccurring characters an interesting plot line and a nice historical perspective that one doesn't always see on world war II. gives a nice perspective from the British I enjoyed the performance plot and look forward to look for becoming on audio