Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

'Sixty-five thousand battle-shocked, trained killers came home to no jobs, no food and the plague. What did Her Majesty think was going to happen?' 

Tomas Piety takes his duties seriously: as a soldier, as a priest of Our Lady of Eternal Sorrows and as a leader of men. He has come home from the war to reclaim his family business, to provide for his men and to ensure the horrors of Abingon can never happen in Ellinburg. 

But things have changed: his crime empire has been stolen, and the people of Ellinburg - his people - have run out of food and hope and places to hide. With his best friend, Bloody Anne, his war-damaged brother, Jochan, and his new gang, the Pious Men, Tomas sets out to reclaim what was his. 

And as Tomas is dragged into a web of political intrigue by the sinister Queen's Men, forced to work against the foreign infiltrators lurking in the backstreet taverns, brothels and gambling dens of the Stink, one thing becomes clear. 

The war has just begun. 

©2018 Peter McLean (P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Critic reviews

"Charismatic and very more-ish." (Mark Lawrence, best-selling author of Red Sister)

"Fans of Daniel Polansky, Mark Lawrence or, dare I say, Blackwing will most appreciate this book." (Ed McDonald, author of Blackwing)

What listeners say about Priest of Bones

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

disappointed

Maybe it wasn't for me, after all this book seems to be much loved by many. I only finished because I wanted it to come good. it's basically Peaky Blinders, theres too many similarities between the two.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

grimdark fantasy at it's very best

amazing book wonderfully narrated. Didn't want it to end. Gritty, dark and violent. I can't wait for the sequel.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic story well told by a brilliant narrator.

I loved this book and cannot wait for the sequel it's like the peaky blinders but flat out better. Fantastic stuff.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Game of Thrones meets Peaky Blinders!

I really enjoyed this mix of genre. The story is fast paced but also takes time to build emotion and you really emphasize with some characters. It's also very well narrated.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Peaky Boners

While I enjoyed this and the narrator’s skills, there’s a couple of things I couldn’t get around in the story. I won’t put spoilers but there’s a glaring problem with the ending and I couldn’t picture the Pious Men, Piety and his brother in particular, as anything other than the Shelbys.

Some good ideas though and I liked the ‘rebuilding a criminal empire’ part of it. Not bad at all.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dark crime fantasy

Listened to Priest of Bones and thought it was fantastic, enjoyed the whole thing and raced through it. I liked the crime and city setting, and the way magic and fighting was used was very impactful.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping fantasy crime drama

The narration by David Morley Hale was brilliant, really added to the quality of the story. I recommend the audio version. Great start to a new series following soldiers returning from war to their dreadful home life as street thugs; the story is a combination of the Gangster genre, political intrigue along with magic mixing things up. The major influence of Peaky Blinders in particular shows, as well as hints of classics like The Godfather, but with plenty of differences to make this story stand out for me. The story touches on plenty of social topics and how the main protagonist Tomas Piety deals with his harsh reality. This helps Tomas standout as more than a thug, skirting the line of antihero. Like many good stories that involve magic I was left intrigued as to how the metaphysics works. As someone with a broad experience of fantasy and numerous role-playing games, the magic will seem familiar, but it felt to me that there were enough hooks hinting at more depth for even a veteran of diverse magic systems. I found the tale gripping and I was heavily invested in finding out what happened next. I really enjoyed the story and eagerly look forward to the next part, highly recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely class!

If you like an eclectic mix of fantasy and Peaky Blinders, this will right up your strasse!

Great characters and a compelling storyline, it’s not for the faint hearted but I lapped this up in a few sittings.

The narrator can make it break such stories and Mr Hale does a fine job here, also.

I’m just surprised that it hasn’t got more reviews. Really looking forward to part 2....

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Grimdark it is but there's a heart to this that is often absent in other novels in the genre. It is necessity that drives the bleakness, not a lack of hope and that makes a big difference, I think. If you don't normally read grimdark, you may find you enjoy this when you haven't enjoyed other examples of the genre before The reading is also excellent. Slightly reminiscent of Sean Bean, if anything. It's nice to get a top notch narrator for a story and it's a shame Mr. Morley-Hale doesn't have a broader catalogue. I'd be happy to recommend this to anyone.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Be aware mentions CSA

I thought this book was brilliant, gripped me start to finish and I’d bought the next one before even finishing the first.

Be aware though that CSA is mentioned and though it’s not gratuitous, and is done in my mind responsibly, it’s still there. It caught me off guard as it’s not a theme I’m used to in fantasy, it’s not the main theme but I would go in prepared.