Try an audiobook on us

Priest of Bones

War for the Rose Throne
Narrated by: David Morley Hale
Length: 10 hrs and 41 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (17 ratings)
Regular price: £21.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

'Sixty-five thousand battle-shocked, trained killers came home to no jobs, no food and the plague. What did Her Majesty think was going to happen?' 

Tomas Piety takes his duties seriously: as a soldier, as a priest of Our Lady of Eternal Sorrows and as a leader of men. He has come home from the war to reclaim his family business, to provide for his men and to ensure the horrors of Abingon can never happen in Ellinburg. 

But things have changed: his crime empire has been stolen, and the people of Ellinburg - his people - have run out of food and hope and places to hide. With his best friend, Bloody Anne, his war-damaged brother, Jochan, and his new gang, the Pious Men, Tomas sets out to reclaim what was his. 

And as Tomas is dragged into a web of political intrigue by the sinister Queen's Men, forced to work against the foreign infiltrators lurking in the backstreet taverns, brothels and gambling dens of the Stink, one thing becomes clear. 

The war has just begun. 

©2018 Peter McLean (P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Critic reviews

"Charismatic and very more-ish." (Mark Lawrence, best-selling author of Red Sister)

"Fans of Daniel Polansky, Mark Lawrence or, dare I say, Blackwing will most appreciate this book." (Ed McDonald, author of Blackwing)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

grimdark fantasy at it's very best

amazing book wonderfully narrated. Didn't want it to end. Gritty, dark and violent. I can't wait for the sequel.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dark crime fantasy

Listened to Priest of Bones and thought it was fantastic, enjoyed the whole thing and raced through it. I liked the crime and city setting, and the way magic and fighting was used was very impactful.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic story well told by a brilliant narrator.

I loved this book and cannot wait for the sequel it's like the peaky blinders but flat out better. Fantastic stuff.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping fantasy crime drama

The narration by David Morley Hale was brilliant, really added to the quality of the story. I recommend the audio version. Great start to a new series following soldiers returning from war to their dreadful home life as street thugs; the story is a combination of the Gangster genre, political intrigue along with magic mixing things up. The major influence of Peaky Blinders in particular shows, as well as hints of classics like The Godfather, but with plenty of differences to make this story stand out for me. The story touches on plenty of social topics and how the main protagonist Tomas Piety deals with his harsh reality. This helps Tomas standout as more than a thug, skirting the line of antihero. Like many good stories that involve magic I was left intrigued as to how the metaphysics works. As someone with a broad experience of fantasy and numerous role-playing games, the magic will seem familiar, but it felt to me that there were enough hooks hinting at more depth for even a veteran of diverse magic systems. I found the tale gripping and I was heavily invested in finding out what happened next. I really enjoyed the story and eagerly look forward to the next part, highly recommend.