Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

A mesmerising, gripping novel from the winner of the 2015 Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year for Someone Else's Skin. Perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Alex Marwood.

Two young boys. Trapped underground in a bunker.

Five years later, the boys' bodies are found and the most difficult case of DI Marnie Rome's career begins. She has to find out who they are and what happened to them. For no-one has reported them missing - and it seems she is the only person to care.

©2015 Sarah Hilary (P)2015 Headline Digital

Critic reviews

"Written with the verve and assurance of a future star." (Helen Dunmore)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Will be reading more by S.Hilary

Excellent narration of a gripping, but sad story, interesting characters, thank you so much ladies!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Tragic and Heartbreaking

If you could sum up No Other Darkness in three words, what would they be?

Tragic story sensitively written

Who was your favorite character and why?

Di Marnie Rome, she is independent, strong and thinks on her feet.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

I cannot say I enjoyed but for me the scene when Marnie ends up underground with Clancy and is joined by Terry and Esther and she has to work out a way of getting them all out, especially as the situation is volatile

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

If time had permitted definitely yes

Any additional comments?

I am looking forward to the next book

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Story was great and narrator was brilliant :). Have bought her first book too. Flowed so nicely I found it hard to stop listening.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

loved the first book and this is even better. already got the third and hoping it's even better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Haunting story

What made the experience of listening to No Other Darkness the most enjoyable?

The narration was top notch. I could feel the hairs standing on the back of my neck at times.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Marnie Rome because I feel she is a complex character and I'm looking forward to getting to know her better.

Which character – as performed by Imogen Church – was your favourite?

The voice of Esther especially was very well narrated. So chilling.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

It was quite a sad and moving read, but I don't want to give anything in particular away and spoil it for others.

Any additional comments?

I like the way threads of the story carry on from book one in the series and I'm looking forward to reading book three.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Loses momentum

This started off brilliantly. The plot developed quickly and there's some good character development. It lost momentum for me about half way through when everything seemed to stall. I very nearly gave up but eventually got to the end.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • faye
  • Watford, United Kingdom
  • 13-09-15

Nothing new or original

Not bad/not good.

Average police procedural with private life of main character a running theme in first two books. These seems to be the case with a lot of these police/suspense books now. I think it's because unless there was a back story or continuing second storyline running over years, the stories themselves are not strong enough to make you buy the next in the series.

Main character seems bland and boring. Nothing about her makes you like or loathe her. Just dull. Quite like her wingman, but even he is a bunch of stereotypes moulded together.

Not sure I'll bother with no3 unless really hard up for choice.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Mind blowing story line. Good plot and believable characters. Enjoyed this very much, will look for other books by Sarah Hilary for sure.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Depressing listen

Love the characters of DI Rome and Noah, but this story is very slow and depressing from the off, didn't feel the outcome was a surprise

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Moving entry in the series

I love this series; the plots are grippingly paced and often very moving, as here; the characters are well drawn. Alas though while Abigail Thaw was a brilliant reader of book 1, Imogen Church is one of those readers who gives all male characters ridiculously gruff, low voices, so they sound like caricatures. Nevertheless, a great book.