Listen free for 30 days

Never Be Broken

DI Marnie Rome, Book 6
Narrated by: Imogen Church
Series: D.I. Marnie Rome, Book 6
Length: 12 hrs and 18 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (40 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Compulsive, gripping and dark, Never Be Broken is the stunning new novel in the Marnie Rome series, for fans of Peter James, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

Children are dying on London's streets. Frankie Reece, stabbed through the heart outside a corner shop. Others recruited from care homes, picked up and exploited, passed like gifts between gangs. They are London's lost. 

Then Raphaela Belsham is killed. She's 13 years old, her father is a man of influence, from a smart part of town. And she's white. Suddenly, the establishment is taking notice. 

DS Noah Jake is determined to handle Raphaela's case and Frankie's too. But he's facing his own turmoil, and it's becoming an obsession. DI Marnie Rome is worried, and she needs Noah on side. Because more children are disappearing, more are being killed by the day and the swelling tide of violence needs to be stemmed before it's too late. 

Never Be Broken is a stunning, intelligent and gripping novel which explores how the act of witness alters us and reveals what lies beneath the veneer of a glittering city.  

©2019 Sarah Hilary (P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"Deeply contemporary, painfully real, heartbreakingly good." (Mick Herron)

"DI Marnie Rome is a three-dimensional character of an emotional depth rarely encountered in the world of fictional cops." (The Times)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Herdis
  • Jordrup, Denmark
  • 20-05-19

Heartbreaking

The most heartbreaking in this series. Grief from every aspect and angle. It had me in its grip from the first line - and in tears.

The Caribbean patois got a little grating from time to time. But a good performance by the narrator.

I hope there will be a new book in the series. This one stood out as the best.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully written, pacy as hell.

Loved every thrilling second of this. Everything from Sarah Hilary is brilliant and this is arguably her best book. The performance is one of the best I've ever listened to. Loved the whole thing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Great Book

I really like Sarah Hilary’s crime stories featuring Di Rome and Ds Jake. This particular story focuses more on Ds Jake after a terrible tragedy that affected his family and the guilt he feels about it. In the previous book he tried to protect his brother from the life of gangs and his actions backfired in the most terrible way. For me although Marnie is usually the main feature it was nice to add another layer to Ds Jake. I still feel there is room for more Sarah Hilary. A great read.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful