Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A dark, compelling Marnie Rome novel, rich with psychological insight, from the winner of the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year. For fans of Clare Mackintosh and Alex Marwood.

The fragile young girl who causes the fatal car crash disappears from the scene. A runaway who doesn't want to be found, she only wants to return to the man who understands her and offers her warmth, comfort, a home. He gives her shelter. Just as he gives shelter to the other lost girls who live in his house.

D.I. Marnie Rome thinks that she knows families, their secrets and their fault lines. But as she begins investigating the girl's disappearance nothing can prepare her for what she's about to face.

©2016 Sarah Hilary (P)2016 Headline Digital

Critic reviews

"Intelligently and fluently written with a clever plot and an energetic pace, dealing with harrowing topics and shot through with humanity." (Cath Staincliffe)
"Written with the verve and assurance of a future star." (Steven Dunne)

What listeners say about Tastes Like Fear

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    91
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    81
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Best book I've listened to in ages, brilliantly written, great story and well narrated - Sarah Hillary is amazing

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unmissable book!

Having read books one and two and really enjoying them, I wondered whether this book Would be as enjoyable, well I was wrong, Sarah once again kept the main characters but there are undertones from the two previous books mainly to do with Di Marnie Rome's character and her past namely Stephen the young man who committed a horrific crime that touched Marnie's life personally. I will say no more well worth reading the books in order. I like the way Marnie's character grows as a person in her job and in particular her relationship with her colleague Sergeant DS Jake they work so well as a team. My only qualm was that I was time short as I would have liked to have completed this book in one sitting. If you like thrillers then this book is for you.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!

The Marnie Rome stories keep getting better, I'm really looking forward to the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Third book of the series & still going strong!

I have really enjoyed this series and this book is no exception, twisting and turning to the very end and superbly narrated as well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Brilliantly read, well done Imogen Church, will be on the look out for more of your audio books best wishes Jeannette allerston 😊 x

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Another great addition to this series. Really interesting well developed story. Brilliant narration. Roll on book 4.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Where was Abigail Thaw?

I won't write a long review, but having listened to book one with enthusiasm - it's not often one finds a six book series that's good and that one likes - but this narrator is pants. The householder sounds as if he's closer to early eighties than forties and the narrator is just too, too - too much. I've heard her do something half good,so I thought with this writer, ,well, it's pretty well narrator proof. Well how wrong was I? Very very wrong.She absolutely ruined these books. Where was Abigail Thaw? Too expensive? On a prolonged holiday due to a particularly heavy handed lockdown? Involved in a heist and caught, currently serving a twelve stretch at her majesty's pleasure? Imogen Church is useless.I wish I could just snap my fingers and get rid of her mouth. I want to drag her back into the studio by her hair and re direct her completely. One of us might not survive the experience, but it wouldn't be her

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoying this series

Plots are complicated, characters are well drawn and believable, Imogen Church is an excellent narrator. What’s not to love? Highly recommended

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring

Returned after a few long winded chapters. Not sure wether it was the book or the narrator, whichever I became very bored 😐

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

It was ok

This seemed to go on and on and on, and could have lost a few chapters. It's not as good as previous books. DI Rome is just a bit boring I'm afraid!

3 people found this helpful