Listen free for 30 days

Last Orders at the Star and Sixpence

Narrated by: Karen Cass
Series: Star and Sixpence, Book 2
Length: 12 hrs
4.5 out of 5 stars (65 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Ice-cold drinks, summer sun and colourful characters - welcome to the perfect village pub!

Nestled in the quiet countryside sits the cosy village of Little Monkham, home of the Star and Sixpence, a renovated pub owned by sisters Sam and Nessie. As the locals welcome the new season, it appears that change is afoot in their tiny community, and not all of it for the better....

Nessie is moving in with her boyfriend, leaving Sam alone in the pub. But with the arrival of new chef Gabriel causing a flutter among the women of the village, it seems that Sam might not be so lonely after all. Having just recently come out of a relationship, Sam’s attraction to Gabe is inconvenient, but that’s the least of her worries when an unexpected visitor arrives at the pub, determined to stir up trouble.

As Gabe and Sam grow closer, Little Monkham’s latest arrival threatens to reveal a secret that will turn more than one world upside down. Can Sam and Nessie work through the fallout, or is it really last orders at The Star and Sixpence?

The brand-new novel from Holly Hepburn, author of A Year at the Star and Sixpence, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Jenny Colgan. 

©2019 Holly Hepburn (P)2019 Simon & Schuster UK

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars

Holly does it again

A lovely story and excellent sequel, expertly read by Karen Cass. Can't wait for the next instalment👍

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Great concluding story

Well read and lovely gentle storytelling to finish the story of the Star and Sixpence

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A real carry-on suspense

loved the story and Karen's narration was again so colourful, that I felt like I was there in person.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Good book well read

There is a nice twist to this book, give it a try! Know you will like it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • G
  • 13-10-19

Last orders at the star and sixpence

Great 👍. Sad at times,but worth the listen you Will not be disappointed. Love her books

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Well done again Holly Hepburn. This was a lovely story. Great characters. And I enjoyed the mystery that Ruby and Gabe solved x

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

GREAT THIRD VISIT TO FAVE PUB

I really enjoyed every minute of my listening time to this story.

Quite unhappy when time was called......More Please !

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Totally unengaging dont bother.

All of the other reviews must be from friends seriously dont bother. Bland, flat, cliched and uninteresting.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

Enjoyable listening and a satisfactory ending. Somehow failed to grip me this time. I think I preferred the first volume. Beautifully read, as always, by Karen Cass.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roger
  • Roger
  • 28-12-19

Beyond boring

Boring boring boring boring boring.last 3 chapters something FINALLY happens.ugh death by boredom!
So very,did I say boring!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 16-09-19

Last Orders at the Star and Sixpence

Last Orders at the Star and Sixpence. I loved this book as a follow up to A Year at the Star and Sixpence. Just a good book to curl up and you don't want it to finish.