Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Ice-cold drinks, summer sun and colourful characters - welcome to the perfect village pub!

Nestled in the quiet countryside sits the cosy village of Little Monkham, home of the Star and Sixpence, a renovated pub owned by sisters Sam and Nessie. As the locals welcome the new season, it appears that change is afoot in their tiny community, and not all of it for the better....

Nessie is moving in with her boyfriend, leaving Sam alone in the pub. But with the arrival of new chef Gabriel causing a flutter among the women of the village, it seems that Sam might not be so lonely after all. Having just recently come out of a relationship, Sam’s attraction to Gabe is inconvenient, but that’s the least of her worries when an unexpected visitor arrives at the pub, determined to stir up trouble.

As Gabe and Sam grow closer, Little Monkham’s latest arrival threatens to reveal a secret that will turn more than one world upside down. Can Sam and Nessie work through the fallout, or is it really last orders at The Star and Sixpence?

The brand-new novel from Holly Hepburn, author of A Year at the Star and Sixpence, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Jenny Colgan. 

©2019 Holly Hepburn (P)2019 Simon & Schuster UK

What listeners say about Last Orders at the Star and Sixpence

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    110
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    109
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    96
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars

Holly does it again

A lovely story and excellent sequel, expertly read by Karen Cass. Can't wait for the next instalment👍

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Great concluding story

Well read and lovely gentle storytelling to finish the story of the Star and Sixpence

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A real carry-on suspense

loved the story and Karen's narration was again so colourful, that I felt like I was there in person.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Good book well read

There is a nice twist to this book, give it a try! Know you will like it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • G
  • 13-10-19

Last orders at the star and sixpence

Great 👍. Sad at times,but worth the listen you Will not be disappointed. Love her books

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Well done again Holly Hepburn. This was a lovely story. Great characters. And I enjoyed the mystery that Ruby and Gabe solved x

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

next book to order please !!

great story , loved all the characters just went on a little in the middle but loved it all the same .what's next

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Emotional rollercoaster

Wow! I feel like I have been on an emotional rollercoaster with Sam and Nessie. This is a mammoth story involving every emotion possible. There is a real feeling of involvement with the villagers and I think I have lived through every experience with them all. Really looking forward to the next instalment.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A. real story if you like a happy ending

Real escapism. Has a feel good factor with a little twist in the middle to keep you guessing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really good story line

The two books have been thoroughly enjoyable. Lots of story line, fun characters. Really enjoyed the narrators voice too.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roger
  • Roger
  • 28-12-19

Beyond boring

Boring boring boring boring boring.last 3 chapters something FINALLY happens.ugh death by boredom! So very,did I say boring!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 16-09-19

Last Orders at the Star and Sixpence

Last Orders at the Star and Sixpence. I loved this book as a follow up to A Year at the Star and Sixpence. Just a good book to curl up and you don't want it to finish.