Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.39

Buy Now for £14.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Ice-cold drinks, summer sun and colourful characters - welcome to the perfect village pub!

Nestled in the quiet countryside sits the cosy village of Little Monkham, home of the Star and Sixpence, a renovated pub owned by sisters Sam and Nessie. As the locals welcome the new season, it appears that change is afoot in their tiny community, and not all of it for the better....

Nessie is moving in with her boyfriend, leaving Sam alone in the pub. But with the arrival of new chef Gabriel causing a flutter among the women of the village, it seems that Sam might not be so lonely after all. Having just recently come out of a relationship, Sam’s attraction to Gabe is inconvenient, but that’s the least of her worries when an unexpected visitor arrives at the pub, determined to stir up trouble.

As Gabe and Sam grow closer, Little Monkham’s latest arrival threatens to reveal a secret that will turn more than one world upside down. Can Sam and Nessie work through the fallout, or is it really last orders at The Star and Sixpence?

The brand-new novel from Holly Hepburn, author of A Year at the Star and Sixpence, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Jenny Colgan. 

©2019 Holly Hepburn (P)2019 Simon & Schuster UK

What listeners say about Last Orders at the Star and Sixpence

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    160
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    159
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    137
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars

Holly does it again

A lovely story and excellent sequel, expertly read by Karen Cass. Can't wait for the next instalment👍

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Great concluding story

Well read and lovely gentle storytelling to finish the story of the Star and Sixpence

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A real carry-on suspense

loved the story and Karen's narration was again so colourful, that I felt like I was there in person.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Good book well read

There is a nice twist to this book, give it a try! Know you will like it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • G
  • 13-10-19

Last orders at the star and sixpence

Great 👍. Sad at times,but worth the listen you Will not be disappointed. Love her books

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Well done again Holly Hepburn. This was a lovely story. Great characters. And I enjoyed the mystery that Ruby and Gabe solved x

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

good read but not as good as book 1 and includes upsetting scenes

Much preferred the 1st book in the series of Star and Sixpence only because the first one was a pleasant and uplifting read whereas the second one was quite upsetting at times...(SPOILER ALERT- this included miscarriage and death of one of the characters) I found myself skipping some bits as they left me feeling uneasy. I have read other books by this author and loved them for their uplifting qualities. There is of course a happy ending here so still worth a read, just not such an easy read as her other books. Narration by Karen Cass was as always outstanding!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Brilliant

I loved this book. I couldn't stop listening to it. I was really disappointed when it came to an end.
Sometimes you just want a book to be an easy listen. Nothing too complicated.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Star 🌟 and sixpence

Love Heidi's books, can't wait to read the next one 🤓😍
Hope it's soon

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not for me.

I found it hard to get into. I just don't think it captured my attention, My mind wondered so i had to keep rewinding it to reconnect with the story. I failed to finish it in the end.

It might not be the book itself, It coupd just be me and i never like to leave a bad review but this was my experience of it. i hope other's find it more captivating than l did.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roger
  • Roger
  • 28-12-19

Beyond boring

Boring boring boring boring boring.last 3 chapters something FINALLY happens.ugh death by boredom!
So very,did I say boring!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 16-09-19

Last Orders at the Star and Sixpence

Last Orders at the Star and Sixpence. I loved this book as a follow up to A Year at the Star and Sixpence. Just a good book to curl up and you don't want it to finish.