Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • In the Shadow of Croft Towers

  • A Regency Romance
  • By: Abigail Wilson
  • Narrated by: Laura Kirman
  • Length: 10 hrs and 5 mins
  • 3.8 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)
Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
In the Shadow of Croft Towers cover art

In the Shadow of Croft Towers

By: Abigail Wilson
Narrated by: Laura Kirman
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.00

Buy Now for £13.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Midnight on the River Grey cover art
Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey cover art
The Heiress of Winterwood cover art
A Vanishing at Loxby Manor cover art
Twilight at Moorington Cross cover art
Lady Jayne Disappears cover art
The Curiosity Keeper cover art
The Silent Governess cover art
Shadows of Swanford Abbey cover art
Clavering Chronicles Boxed Set cover art
The Letter from Briarton Park cover art
The Mysterious Miss Flint cover art
Spinning the Moon cover art
A Castaway in Cornwall cover art
Must Love Dukes cover art
The Governess of Penwythe Hall cover art

Summary

Nothing - and no one - at Croft Towers is what they claim in this Gothic Regency romance.

When Sybil Delafield's coach to Croft Towers was robbed by highwaymen, she should have realized that her new position as companion to old Mrs. Chalcroft would be no ordinary job. Upon Sybil's arrival, Mrs. Chalcroft sneaks into her room in the dark of night, imploring her to relay messages to town that are to stay hidden from the rest of the family. Who exactly is she working for and what do the messages contain?

When fellow passengers of the robbed coach are later murdered, Sybil's hunt for the truth takes on a new urgency. The only person she can rely on is Mr. Sinclair, Mrs. Chalcroft's godson, but under all his charms he too leads a double life. Sybil must decide if he is the one honest voice she can trust, or if he is simply using her for his own advances.

Croft Towers holds more than its share of secrets...and Sybil is determined to uncover them all.

Praise for In the Shadow of Croft Towers

"In the Shadow of Croft Towers is everything I love in a novel: a classic gothic feel, a regency setting, a mysterious hero...and secrets abounding!" (Dawn Crandall, award-winning author of the Everstone Chronicles series)

"Shades of Gothic romance in a portrait of Regency England...if Jane Austen ever met Jane Eyre, it would be at Croft Towers!" (Kristy Cambron, author of Castle on the Rise)

"Blending the unputdownable Regency flair of Georgette Heyer with the intricate plotting of Julie Klassen, Wilson not only places herself competently amidst beloved authors but carves out a unique place of her own." (Rachel McMillan, author of the Van Buren and DeLuca Mysteries)

"Beautifully written, suspenseful, and satisfyingly romantic." (Jennifer Beckstrand, author of Home on Huckleberry Hill

Full-length Regency romance with a murder mystery (c. 95,000 words)

Perfect for fans of Sarah Ladd, Deanna Raybourn, Julie Klassen, Tasha Alexander, and Lauren Willig.

Also by Abigail Wilson:

  • Midnight on the River Grey
  • Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey
  • The Vanishing at Loxby Manor (available January 2021)
©2019 Abigail Wilson (P)2019 Thomas Nelson

Critic reviews

"Part mystery and part romance, Abigail Wilson's debut is an atmospheric period novel that will keep readers guessing to the very end." (Amanda Flower, USA Today best-selling author of Death and Daisies)

"In the Shadow of Croft Tower is beautifully written, suspenseful, and satisfyingly romantic. Abigail Wilson paints a beautiful picture of pastoral Regency England. This book will keep you riveted to the end, and you'll be rooting for the feisty heroine to get her happily ever after." (Jennifer Beckstrand, author of Home on Huckleberry Hill)

What listeners say about In the Shadow of Croft Towers

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A bit soppy

I was irritated by words and phrases that were wrong for the period. The romance was a bit Mills and Boone for my liking, and it became rather tedious knowing the hero would come to the heroine's rescue each time she was in trouble. Oh, and boy was she thick at the beginning. There were bits of the story left unexplained, and one character said two opposing things, which didn't say much for the editors. The narrator is obviously a trained actor, so the voices were done reasonably well, though most of the men had similar gruff voices. I was able to stick with the book to the end but I wouldn't bother with another book by this author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

clean historical romantic mystery

I loved this book. There were so many secrets. Just as I thought I'd guessed them, the book started to twist and turn. I enjoyed the story, both as a historical romance and as a mystery and suspense novel.
The narrator was perfect for the main character.
I've seen this listed on Amazon as a Christian fiction but there is no spiritual content. However it is clean, with no swearing or sex scenes.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Both a good Regency & Gothic story

Reading was adequate too. I didn't give 5* because the narrator speaks of the quality of the relationship between the protagonist and the lady of the house and I didn't think it was well developed. However the writing is that of the period 95% of the time. The writer masters its vocabulary quite well as well as its customs. Description of landscapes interesting. I listened to this audiobook almost non stop, which is a good sign. More in depth study of the characters and their interactions would have been nice, but this makes for a very pleasant reading nonetheless.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

The heroine was so incredibly dim

It’s such a shame as the story was interesting but the main female character was so annoying incredibly dim and obtuse. The narration was lovely

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!