Regular price: £26.29

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.

World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive–a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad–and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war–and of her own past.

©2013 Susan Elia Macneal (P)2013 Random House Audio

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lesley
  • Derby, United Kingdom
  • 11-02-18

fabulous book

What made the experience of listening to His Majesty's Hope the most enjoyable?

enjoyed the character of Maggie Hope with several twists and turns in the story line. the narration was good and I found the narrator easy to listen too.

What did you like best about this story?

its flow and easy listening. I like all the bits of history thrown into the mix although I'm not sure all of them a factually correct. But that doesn't matter to me as I'm enjoying the story line.

Any additional comments?

I loved the book and I'm enjoying the series so far. I'm looking forward to listening to the next one.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Carol
  • 17-06-13

A YA Mystery that Isn't... Quite

Would you try another book from Susan Elia MacNeal and/or Susan Duerden?

Probably not.

Has His Majesty's Hope turned you off from other books in this genre?

No. This series just doesn't measure up.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

The narrator has a pleasant voice, and does accents well. If she wanted to imitate a German accent, though, she should have researched it a bit better. Her "German" comes across a bit too much like what you'd hear in a cartoon. A little too much V for W and little else that sounds German. Her narration tends to have a sing song quality that could be improved on.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from His Majesty's Hope?

The decision to include a PG sex scene was awkward and didn't fit. This series seems to be aimed at YA, and the sex neither added to the characterization nor moved the plot along.

Any additional comments?

The author has obviously done a lot of research on swing dance and jazz. She includes too much, though. Describing a swing dance would be fine, and in keeping with the book... Including a long list of dance moves was out of place.

The book doesn't seem to be able to decide what audience is wanted. The writing style and characterization is more Young Adult than adult, but the author includes a homosexual character and his affairs as well as an awkward sex scene. Sex can be included in YA if it is handled properly, but this scene comes across as awkward and self conscious.

The characterization and action remind me of the Nancy Drew books I read as a child. I have read three by this author, because I hoped the awkwardness of the first one might have been a fluke. The author writes smooth, easy to read prose, but the characters are rather flat and the plot is very predictable.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Leigh Billingsley
  • 16-06-13

Liked the series but....

Really loved the story premise but hoped they would bring back the first narrator...but they stayed with the second and, while she has a pretty voice, her "acting" is very limited. The narrator has such a huge impact on how the story is viewed, and it becomes difficult to separate the two.....

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • nicola
  • 06-09-13

Narrator.She doesnt end sentences & is breathy

Would you consider the audio edition of His Majesty's Hope to be better than the print version?

Yes. The narrator does not complete sentences as one would expect to have a fullstop at the end of a sentence. She draws out the last word of a sentence and seems to be "breathy". I almost stopped listening because of the monotonous narrator

How did the narrator detract from the book?

She was monotonous and boring.

Who was the most memorable character of His Majesty's Hope and why?

Maggie. Heroine

Any additional comments?

A narrator should make you believe that you are watching a movie. This narrator made me want to switch off audible and watch a movie

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Katherine
  • 26-07-14

Seems to be meant for young people

I enjoyed the first 2 of the series, but this one seemed too juvenile, with the adult characters one-dimensional and mean. The narrator didn't bother me as much as it did others. It was all part of the slightly cartoonish approach. I'll be skipping the rest of the series.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Kay Curry
  • 14-08-13

A good book ruined by bad narration

What would have made His Majesty's Hope better?

The narration for this Maggie Hope book was really awful. I will not be listening to anymore by this reader.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kristen
  • 28-05-13

Can't wait for the next Maggie Hope book!

Would you listen to His Majesty's Hope again? Why?

Yes, the story line continues to fascinate and keeps the reader engaged.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Maggie is a strong woman dealing with multiple challenges in a time of great uncertainty.

Have you listened to any of Susan Duerden’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No, I truly prefer the previous narrator.

If you could take any character from His Majesty's Hope out to dinner, who would it be and why?

Definitely Maggie, she is witty, complex, and independent.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Diana
  • 24-05-13

Great series!

I love this series and want to listen to each book as long as it lasts. The story line is a good one, and the historical bits are interesting. I am not sure though that I will be able to listen to another book narrated by Susan Duerden. PLEASE return to the original reader!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jeannette T
  • 23-04-18

The emotions of this story made it very difficult to listen to.

This one was very well done historically but the emotions associated with what was going on during that time were difficult to listen to. However, I couldn’t stop listening. The narrator is good but she does make some strange sounds once in awhile.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 13-04-18

great historical mystery & thriller

I love the Maggie Hope series. This narrator did well with all the accents, even the German. The story kept me engrossed throughout. An interesting way to explore events in Germany during WWII.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • psbk
  • 08-01-18

Another Great Hope thriller

the narrator's use of different languages and Foreign Accents makes this book even better. You get immersed in the story listening to her. You think it's different voices different characters when it's just the one narrator and she is superb. It adds a depth and a thrill to the story more so than if I actually read it. I love listening to these Maggie hope Mysteries.