Regular price: £27.19

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry, The Prime Minister's Secret Agent is a gripping new mystery featuring intrepid spy and code breaker Maggie Hope. And this time, the fallout of a deadly plot comes straight to her own front door.

World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Home from an undercover mission in Berlin, she settles down to teach at her old spy training camp, and to heal from scars on both her body and heart. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue. When three ballerinas fall strangely ill in Glasgow - including one of Maggie's dearest friends - Maggie partners with MI-5 to uncover the truth behind their unusual symptoms. What she finds points to a series of poisonings that may expose shocking government secrets and put countless British lives at stake. But it's the fight brewing in the Pacific that will forever change the course of the war - and indelibly shape Maggie's fate.

©2014 Susan Elia MacNeal (P)2014 Random House Audio

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Don't enjoy listening to this person's voice

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

I would have enjoyed a dramatised version of this book - I LOVE the stories but the person chosen to read this book has a very monotone voice which I can't listen to.

Who was your favorite character and why?

I love so many; I can't pick just one.

Who might you have cast as narrator instead of Susan Duerden?

Jenna Coleman - I think she would have done an amazing job

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Disappointment; I've been looking for the hard copy of this book for AGES but unable to find it so thought I'd get the audio version. Didn't enjoy the narration at all.

Any additional comments?

How do I return it?

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Margaret Vance
  • 06-07-14

The narration spoils the book

What made the experience of listening to The Prime Minister's Secret Agent the most enjoyable?

The series is interesting and the time period and history described makes for a good read.

Would you be willing to try another book from Susan Elia MacNeal? Why or why not?

I like the author but some else needs to narrate.

What didn’t you like about Susan Duerden’s performance?

Her cadence and breathy deliver is hard to listen to. There are emphasis where there shouldn't be and her raspy whispery voice is annoying.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • TexasKelt
  • 14-09-17

GET IT RIGHT!!!!

There were several goofs in this book including name mix-ups. But the one inexcusable error was referring to a sailor as a "private"!! Insulting. If you are going to write a book about war and the military at least get the ranks and ratings correct!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kathryn Grammer
  • 12-09-17

Everything excellent.

Exciting story. Not keen on reader. Love the background research and history. Love Maggie Hope.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • K. J. Fisher
  • 11-07-17

Enjoyed

Would you listen to The Prime Minister's Secret Agent again? Why?

I enjoyed the different turns and twists in this installment of the series.

Any additional comments?

I still have a challenge with the narration style of the narrarator, although she does do a lovely job with the character voices

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • GGT
  • 01-03-17

Great series <br />

Good plot, character and intrigue in the whole Maggie Hope mystery series. Thoroughly enjoyed them all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • M.
  • 23-11-14

slow....

slow story line, slow reading, slow developing the story line. just hated the section on Clara's mother - really? just not as exciting as the other books by far. was a dialed in story, dialed in performance. will give serious thought before purchasing the next one, maybe borrow from the local library instead. oh and let me add boringly slow.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Cynthia
  • 06-09-14

Revisionary History

What disappointed you about The Prime Minister's Secret Agent?

Long dragged out conversations that appear to be US and British hate-baiting. Listened for over 2 hours of the nice hour book and and never found out what the mystery was. Depression and anger run rampant

What could Susan Elia MacNeal have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Quit writing made up conversations that last 30 minutes about philosophy (Churchhill rants on and on )

Which scene was your favorite?

Could not find a favorite scene because I could not tolerate listening for HOURS with out a story to follow.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Cycling Gal
  • 22-08-14

Dissapointed

If you could sum up The Prime Minister's Secret Agent in three words, what would they be?

Waste of time

What could Susan Elia MacNeal have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

This book is basically about Maggie working through her issues so she can go do spy work again. I felt like this could have been condensed into a couple chapters at most and then get on with the story.

Any additional comments?

I've really enjoyed the series so far. I was looking forward to this book, but was disappointed because the whole book felt like an interlude between stories rather than a story in itself. I kept waiting for the story to pick up speed, by the time it started gaining momentum it was over.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • J. Roderick
  • 21-08-14

Good story

Is there anything you would change about this book?

A different narrator. Her style is breathless and bumpy.

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Susan Duerden?

Davina Porter

Do you think The Prime Minister's Secret Agent needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

Yes, of course. We need to see Maggie in the US, find out what path her mother follows, and see how her half sister gets released from Germany.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Elena J
  • 10-06-18

I preferred to read the story then to listen .

read most of the books.This one listened but still preferred my own imagination to the narrators. a little too monotonous for my taste.