Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A secret worth dying for is a secret worth killing...

When a violent storm uncovers the remains of an unknown young woman, long buried among the sand dunes, DI Tom Janssen must piece together fragmentary evidence to determine how she came to be there.

In the years she lay undiscovered, several young women have disappeared, and as the team works through the possibilities, they come to an uncomfortable conclusion...Is a serial killer stalking coastal Norfolk? Each missing person had a story. Each of them had enemies. Some were more dangerous than others...

They appealed to the same men, dabbled in the occult, and came to the attention of powerful figures who would brush them aside without a second thought. But who had the motivation to kill? Where is the killer now? When the past is brought into the light, will they be willing to ensure their closely guarded secrets remain buried?

To do so, they will have to kill again...

Set within the mysterious beauty of Coastal Norfolk, this fast-paced British detective novel is a dark murder mystery with a little humor and a touch of romance, one that will keep you guessing until the very end when the final shocking twist is revealed.

Bury Your Past is the second novel in a new series of thrillers from Amazon number one best-selling crime author JM Dalgliesh, the author of the Dark Yorkshire books. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, JD Kirk, Angela Marsons, Joy Ellis, and Damien Boyd.

©2019 J M Dalgliesh (P)2020 J M Dalgliesh

What listeners say about Bury Your Past

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    91
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

you will want to hear more!The stories are believable and gripping from the start.
Really entertaining a Must listen.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ms
  • 20-03-21

Sorry

So sorry this didn’t quite cut the mustard. From a very promising beginning it got bogged down to a rather ludicrous ending. I stuck with it just about. I don’t know what it was I have listed to the last book read by this narrator but this time I found him really irritating. I think the book may be more gripping read by someone else.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Brilliant as usual can’t wait for book 3 in this series Greg Patmore was great as usual with the narration

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant book.

I just love and always enjoy JM Dalgliesh, in the way he writes His books have you captured from the very start, this being one of them. The storyline is a brilliant one and the descriptive of the characters and places the story is set in, bring it to life. Greg Patmore as the narrator does a marvellous job, so good to listen too.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Engaging Crime Story

Great story, building on the first in the series and developing the characters. Looking forward to listening to the next.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping story well read by Greg Pattemore

The second book in this series does not disappoint, enhanced by the excellent reading by Greg Pttemore

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

yes good

loved it all a binding story kept me tied to storage the way through thanks

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carolyn E. Jaques
  • Carolyn E. Jaques
  • 14-04-21

Nice

I love these characters and location. The voice talent is really good as well. what's next?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Emiller
  • Emiller
  • 03-02-22

Tedious

So disappointed that I could not enjoy this book. The story could have been told in half the chapters. The dialog between characters was stilted and repetitive and I could not feel invested in them or the story line. This was made worse by the narrator who seemed bored reading this book and spoke in a monotonous tone. As I paid for the book I stuck with it until the end, relieved it was finally over.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 14-12-21

New Favorite Book Series

I'm a fan of English mysteries; Inspector Banks, Peter Diamond, Masie Dobbs, Lord and Lady He their he to name a few. After listening to the first two books in the series, I am adding this series and cannot wait to get the third. The stories have twist that I don't see coming. Highly recommend.