Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Bride to the King cover art

Bride to the King

By: Barbara Cartland
Narrated by: Sarah Lambie
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £7.99

Buy Now for £7.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Odious Duke cover art
Guilty Pleasures cover art
The Cold Earl's Bride: A Historical Regency Romance cover art
The Diabolical Baron cover art
The Love Knot cover art
Heir to the Duke cover art
The Mistletoe Haunting cover art
Statues in a Garden cover art
The Whore's Tale: Sarah cover art
Dynasty 1: The Founding cover art
Mask of Duplicity cover art
The Secrets of Ashmore Castle cover art
Remember Love cover art
Fortune's Daughter cover art
The Making of a Marchioness cover art
The Other Guinness Girl cover art

Summary

Daydreamer and book-lover, Zosina, the eldest daughter of the Archduke Ferdinand of Blitzstein, is reluctantly obedient when her father announces that she must marry King Gorgy of neighbouring Dorsa to create an alliance between the two nations.

On her first visit to Dorsa, Zosina is greeted by the beguiling and handsome Prince Regent. By contrast, her betrothed, the King, is wild and disagreeable. For the sake of her people, Zosina must go ahead with the marriage with a hope that someone warmer hides beneath the King's hard exterior. Yet, the longer she spends in Dorsa, the greater her fear that the Prince Regent has her heart.

A tense and romantic love triangle with a dramatic twist. Bride to the King is an action-packed regency romance, perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer, Julia Quinn, and Jenny Hambly.

In her lifetime, British author Barbara Cartland wrote over 700 novels and was most famous for her contemporary and historical romances. A prominent figure in London society, the young Cartland began her writing career as a gossip columnist for the Daily Express. It was partying in 1920's London that gave her inspiration for her first book, Jigsaw, a racy society thriller.

After marrying into the McCorquodale family, she began writing romance and holds a Guinness World Record for the most number of books published in one year: 191. Her books have been translated into many different languages, as well as adapted for stage and screen. She is beloved the world over and even counts the young Princess Diana as one of her many fans.

©2022 SAGA Egmont (P)2022 SAGA Egmont
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

What listeners say about Bride to the King

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.