Regular price: £27.19

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking, this unrequited love story will appeal to fans of Jennifer Niven, John Green, and Jesse Andrews.

Seriously, how can you see a person nearly every day of your life and never think a thing of it, then, all of a sudden, one day, it's different? You see that goofy grin a thousand times and just laugh. But goofy grin number 1,001 nearly stops your heart?

Right. That sounds like a bad movie already.

Matt Wainwright is constantly sabotaged by the overdramatic movie director in his head. He can't tell his best friend, Tabby, how he really feels about her; he implodes on the JV basketball team; and the only place he feels normal is in Mr. Ellis' English class, discussing the greatest fart scenes in literature and writing poems about pissed-off candy-cane lumberjacks.

If this were a movie, everything would work out perfectly. Tabby would discover that Matt's madly in love with her, be overcome with emotion, and fall into his arms. Maybe in the rain.

But that's not how it works. Matt watches Tabby get swept away by senior basketball star and all-around great guy Liam Branson. Losing Tabby to Branson is bad enough, but screwing up and losing her as a friend is even worse.

After a tragic accident, Matt finds himself left on the sidelines, on the verge of spiraling out of control and losing everything that matters to him.

From debut author Jared Reck comes a fiercely funny and heart-wrenching novel about love, longing, and what happens when life as you know it changes in an instant.

©2017 Jared Reck (P)2017 Listening Library

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Katie - Audible
  • 27-09-17

Move Over John Green

Cue the ugly crying. I first got my hands on this book a month or so ago, and it has continued to stay with me. I was unprepared for the onslaught of tears as I made my way through Jared Reck’s debut novel. Reck is a mega-talent: he had me going from crying to laughing within seconds, and it felt like the most natural progression in the world. As a real-life high school teacher, Reck captures the voice of the characters with such commanding authenticity. It’s so easy to relate to the protagonist Matt, particularly in his most cringe-worthy moments. Narrator Mike Chamberlain is definitely best known for his nonfiction work, but his youthful tone - that at times borders on teenage apathy - lends itself nicely to this production. I have high hopes for this one – I can’t wait to see what other listeners think, and I can’t wait to see what Reck does next."

14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Gary
  • 01-10-17

I'm sitting here bawling my eyes out with my Macaw

And he's giving me the hairy eyeball because I was laughing just a minute ago.

There are more complicated and universal emotions dealt with in this engaging novel about teen-aged love, and I enjoyed it quite a lot!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Pam
  • 05-10-17

Surprised

Wow didn't see it coming. Slow start thinking I wouldn't finish the book. The I couldn't stop.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Bookworm
  • 25-01-18

Broke my little bookworm heart...

"I don't know what the point of all this is...there are times where there can't possibly be a point. Others, it's like the stars have lined themselves up just for you...I decided, however long I get, if I can spend time with the people I love, I don't really care what the point is."

The skinny:
Matty and Tabby are best friends. They're not only neighbors, but they grew up together from infancy--they're practically family. Except Matty is in love with Tabby. He's content with just being her best friend and spending time together, hoping maybe one day there will be more between them...until varsity basketball stud Liam Branson comes into the picture and whisks her away. Understandably, Matty doesn't take this very well, and his behavior nearly costs him Tabby's friendship, but unbeknownst to Matty, the cards in his future hold something much, much worse.

Thoughts:
It started off slow, with several basketball scenes I would have gladly skipped through, but even when I did stop listening, I always came back for more later. And my persistence paid off. The story got better, and then, just as I was rooting for Matty's happy ending, it slammed me with a heart-wrenching twist I never saw coming. I must say, I think this is the first time a book has made me laugh and cry at the same time. Kudos to the author (you're still fired for breaking my heart, btw).

In spite of the plethora of f-bombs scattered throughout the story, I really did enjoy this book. The characters and their friendships and relationships felt all so real and relatable, which I think is why I am left with such sadness after finishing it.

Bottom line:
It's not perfect, nor one to go down as one of my all-time favorites, but it's a book I'll be thinking about for quite some time. So if crying and laughing in your car sounds appealing, (and if you can deal with Matty's cursing internal monologue) then give it a listen!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Susan T Denton
  • 15-04-18

A Good and enjoyable read

Overall i really enjoyed this book although i did find the beginning to be very slow and hard to get into. The first half of the book seemed repetitive where the main character was just going on and on about his secret love for tabby. The whole story completely flipped when the plot twist occurred. I was caught off guard and thought overall the book was executed well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • kirstin Lambrecht
  • 14-03-18

Great listen

Loved this story! Entertaining and wonderfully told. I enjoy a wide range of different books. This was a simple, sweet story that was easy to listen to. Just what I wanted for relaxing by the pool.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Claudine
  • 04-02-18

More Than I Expected

I got this book for a light read. I read only a couple of reviews and it sounded sweet and interesting so I got it. It started out almost too sappy. Almost every line was either an ode to how much he loved his friend or an angst filled diary of how he could not get her to 'see' him. I was wondering if the entire story was going to be like this and then - bam- it became an entirely different kind of story which threw me for a loop. It had me in its clutches from then to the very end. Powerful story I wasnt expecting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • LASF
  • 11-01-18

I loved it.

best book I have read in a while. anyone that has been a teenage boy will get it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • J
  • 31-12-17

Perfection

Better than I expected it to be. Heartbreaking at times. You really feel what the main character goes through. A great book that handles grief in an honest and heartening way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-10-17

Made me cry!!! absolutely loved it!!!

cute, a number of times made me say sweet and made me cry. 👍👍👍

2 of 3 people found this review helpful