Listen free for 30 days

  • A Mansion for Murder

  • Kate Shackleton, Book 13
  • By: Frances Brody
  • Narrated by: Anne Dover
  • Length: 9 hrs and 27 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (51 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
A Mansion for Murder cover art

A Mansion for Murder

By: Frances Brody
Narrated by: Anne Dover
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.00

Buy Now for £13.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Murder on the Lusitania cover art
Murder at the Dolphin Hotel: A Gripping Cozy Historical Mystery cover art
Say It With Poison, Mitchell and Markby Village, Book 1 cover art
A Very English Murder cover art
A Rare Interest in Corpses cover art
A Quiet Life in the Country cover art
The Girl from the Corner Shop cover art
Murder at Everham Hall cover art
The Dead Dog Day cover art
Maisie Dobbs cover art
A Man Lay Dead cover art
Death at the Auction cover art
The Bermondsey Bookshop cover art
The Wintringham Mystery cover art
Murder in Tuscany cover art
Calling WPC Crockford cover art

Summary

1930, Yorkshire. Intrigued by a mysterious letter from a stranger offering important information, private investigator Kate Shackleton arrives in the mill village of Saltaire. At nearby Milner Field mansion, overshadowed by its reputation for misfortune and untimely deaths, she expects to meet the letter writer, Ronnie Creswell.

Kate soon hears the shocking news that Ronnie has been killed. At first his death appears to be a tragic accident at the mill, but soon it becomes clear that Ronnie's demise was no mishap. Kate is enlisted to help investigate the murder.

Kate moves into the tower rooms at Milner Field, as she tries to uncover resentments, industrial espionage, and old secrets in the close-knit village. Although she doesn't believe in curses, she wonders what sinister truth lies behind this latest in the litany of deaths connected to the infamous Milner Field.

Then just when things couldn't get any worse, a young girl in the village goes missing, and Kate must use all her strength and skill to unravel the mystery around the mansion once and for all....

Whether you've enjoyed the whole series, or are discovering the Kate Shackleton mysteries for the first time, this is the perfect mystery for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and Jacqueline Winspear.

©2022 Frances McNeil (P)2022 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers." (Daily Mail)

"Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive." (Ann Cleeves)

"Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine." (Ann Granger)

What listeners say about A Mansion for Murder

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great Kate Shackleton story

I love these books and can’t wait for the next. I like the characters and there is always a great deal of compassion for the sadness and tragedy of life - all her books deal with this with such tenderness and humanity.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Recommended

i really enjoyed this book. The story was enthralling and the glimpses of the social history of the time really brought the story alive. Kate Shackelton and her team are extremely likeable.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book!

Well researched 1930s murder mystery, based in a real setting. I liked the setting of a life among ordinary people, at a time when the wool industry in the north was facing decline, women were still excluded from many professions and social class was a major determinant of opportunity. This book weaves in all this against a background of folk memory and superstition. But the protagonist, Kate Shackleton, is accepted and admired for her ability and graciousness. And the narrator was excellent- managing to convincingly portray a diverse range of accents and characters.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Spoiled by the narration

Engaging narrative but lacklustre delivery. I was on the verge of quitting a few times because the narration was so flat/dull.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent book, excellent series

This was a great storyline, brilliantly read, as always. I hope Frances Brody writes lots more Kate Shackleton stories - and maybe a new love interest for our heroine, who surely deserves some love in her life, alongside her capable solving of crimes and all round goodness. I looked up Saltaire and Milners Field while listening to the novel; very interesting and rather sad. Anne Dover is an excellent reader. More please

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • M
  • 06-11-22

Mansion for Murder. Kate Shakelton

A great read as are all Frances Brody’s books. I hope it’s not too long before another story . Perfect narration too.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Boring and two dimensional

The main character is such a goody two shoes, always dropping into the conversation about her ‘wartime VAD experience’ , that I just lost interest. I know it’s meant to be lighthearted cozy crime, but for heaven’s sake, this character is SO BORING . Narration is excellent, would recommend as an aid for insomniacs

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An absolute joy to listen to as always

Beautifully written and beautifully narrated with such interesting historical facts within (alongside the fabulous storyline). Thoroughly loved having Kate Shackleton and crew back in my life.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!