Ben Garston

3 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 63 ratings

Chasing Embers Summary

Fans of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher will revel in this fiery tale of magic, mayhem and modern-day mythology.

Behind every myth there is a spark of truth....

There's nothing special about Ben Garston.

Or so he'd have you believe. He won't tell you, for instance, that he's also known as Red Ben. Or that the world of myth and legend is more real than you think.

Because it's his job to keep all that a secret.

But now a centuries-old rivalry has resurfaced, and the delicate balance between his world and ours is about to be shattered.

Something is hiding in the heart of the city - and it's about to be unleashed.

The Ben Garston novels:

Chasing Embers

Raising Fire

Burning Ashes (coming 2018)

©2016 James Bennett (P)2016 Little Brown
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Chasing Embers

    • A Ben Garston Novel
    • By: James Bennett
    • Narrated by: Colin Mace
    • Length: 14 hrs and 7 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 47
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 42
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 42

    Behind every myth there is a spark of truth.... There's nothing special about Ben Garston. Or so he'd have you believe. He won't tell you, for instance, that he's also known as Red Ben. Or that the world of myth and legend is more real than you think. Because it's his job to keep all that a secret. But now a centuries-old rivalry has resurfaced, and the delicate balance between his world and ours is about to be shattered.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Entertaining but maudlin

    • By G. J. Krupa on 05-10-16

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 2

    • Raising Fire

    • A Ben Garston Novel
    • By: James Bennett
    • Narrated by: Colin Mace
    • Length: 10 hrs and 57 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 16
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 15
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 15

    Life isn't treating Ben Garston very well. He's lost everything he once held dear, including the love of his life. Still, he did at least escape being dragged into hell by a malevolent spirit bent on total destruction. So there is that. Now Ben just wants to drink and forget, and drink some more. But he can't. Not yet. Because someone is stirring up trouble. Someone who wants to unravel the powerful magic that was spun all those centuries ago and watch the realm of mythology come crashing into the modern world.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Fantastic

    • By Daniel on 07-09-17

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 3

    Burning Ashes cover art
    Not Available on Audible.co.uk

    There are many reasons why a book might be unavailable.

    Sometimes a book goes temporarily out of print - and sometimes no audio version has ever been recorded. Audible wants to give you the most complete selection we can and we'll keep adding series and filling in gaps as quickly as possible.