Listen free for 30 days

Chasing Embers

A Ben Garston Novel
Narrated by: Colin Mace
Series: Ben Garston, Book 1
Length: 14 hrs and 7 mins
4 out of 5 stars (83 ratings)

Regular price: £19.99

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Fans of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher will revel in this fiery tale of magic, mayhem and modern-day mythology.

Behind every myth there is a spark of truth....

There's nothing special about Ben Garston.

Or so he'd have you believe. He won't tell you, for instance, that he's also known as Red Ben. Or that the world of myth and legend is more real than you think.

Because it's his job to keep all that a secret.

But now a centuries-old rivalry has resurfaced, and the delicate balance between his world and ours is about to be shattered.

Something is hiding in the heart of the city - and it's about to be unleashed.

The Ben Garston novels:

Chasing Embers

Raising Fire

Burning Ashes (coming 2018)

©2016 James Bennett (P)2016 Little Brown

Critic reviews

"A thrilling fusion of myth and modernity." (Kevin Hearne, author of the Iron Druid Chronicles)
"Blending together the best of action, adventure and urban fantasy.... Chasing Embers is one of my highlights!" ( The Eloquent Page)

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Entertaining but maudlin

I enjoyed the premise of the story and the (very expansive) world created to contain it but can't help thinking the story could have been told in half the time. Having a certain level of introspection is one of the great things that sets books apart from films but this work takes it to extremes and, along with Gartston's overwhelmingly poetic, morose and morbid bent, makes the whole experience seem to just drag on (pun intended). It sort of reminds me of American Gods (which I'll admit I didn't enjoy) but trying too hard. I'd like to hear more from this series but only with a significant change of pace.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Daniel
  • Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
  • 05-10-16

Good

Good story, nice reading all and all a decent way to spend a credit if you like urban fantasy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant Fantasy

A wonderful fresh approach to the epic dragon genre! I look forward to James Bennett's next offering!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointingly verbose

The ideas behind this book were really fun but it was nearly ruined by dragging description of EVERYTHING. You could cut half the words out of the book and you'd have a fun read/listen.

Unfortunately the narrator was also poor; it seemed as though hey were trying to make each sentence sound even more dramatic than the last which, frankly, got a bit wearing.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

excellent story but could be a bit faster moving.

great story with a fantastic narrator. only gripe is the language and pacing repeats a bit going over points already made. it stifles the flow a bit. the main characters is a fantastic study in a flawed hero but he always seems on the back foot. this can slow the pacing. but the compelling plot pushes past these minor gripes and keeps you hooked.

the plot and world is well mapped and plotted and then characters interesting. I look forward to seeing how it grows

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story, slightly odd narration

Damn good urban fantasy noir. Cleverly imagined and plotted. My only issue was the pronunciation of some of the text

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

one too many danger safe for me

It isn't a convoluted plot but it is a bit danger safe danger safe. I played it a few times but I just didn't like it and can't really say why. I won't listen to it again unlike the john conroe. butcher. or faith hunter books so it's going back.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Avid Books and TV
  • 11-12-18

Interesting Idea, but poorly done

I almost gave up on this book a number of times but forced myself to finish it. I like the premise of the main protagonist being a dragon in human form, with a modern setting. However beyond that basic idea, there's little to like about this book. The writing is overly verbose, the characters are unlikable and mostly two-dimensional. I was not a fan of the main protagonist. He seemed pretty slow, dense and a predictable. He constantly blundered around, repeatedly charging into unknown situations without thought only to be surprised and/or out-witted, never learning from his mistakes and always needing someone or something else to save him. It was real slog to get through and I won't be reading any more from this author.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • davidcbarnard
  • 04-08-18

Maybe not a good Audiobook

There is a lot going on here and the author is a bit poetic or wordy. That combined with the thick English accent of the narrator made this a really poor listen. I got lost a lot. Felt like there were holes in the plot. Not a fan.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Steelgator
  • 21-09-16

Different take on Dragons.

I found this very enjoyable. This is an excellent listen. If you like tales of old gods and dragons in a modern setting then grab this one.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • joan
  • 19-09-16

Not just a Dragon

I knew nothing of this book or this author when I bought the audiobook. It appeared to be his very first novel, and there were no ratings and no reviews. Still, I liked the story description, the narrator's clip, and the cover art, so I took a chance. So glad I did!

What a nice surprise it was when I discovered that the novel was professional and polished in storyline and complexity, complete with several different countries, time periods, characters, points of view, and subjects, including loneliness, love, trust, revenge, hope, order and chaos, magic, and supernatural or magical creatures. I noticed when Bennett subtly peppered the story with descriptive language fit for a dragon: ash, flame, smoke, claw, etc.

I'm guessing (hoping?) that there will be more!

I'm American, but love my Audiobooks to have a little UK bite and humor, and my narrator too have a matching UK accent. Colin Mace generally did an amazing job with tone, pace, accents and genders. Bril!

I highly recommend. Enjoy!



1 of 2 people found this review helpful