Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Their world isn't quite what it seems. It might not be a world at all...

Udo's biggest problem isn't being a digger (that's low class), or staying drunk (that's damn expensive), or avoiding the Dwergaz (they're monsters), or even pissing off the supposed Gods.

It's that his reality...well, it isn't what he thought.

And now, he can't even afford to drink because his so-called friend Nicz is cutting into his business, digging up tin, iron, and copper. So Udo forms a new plan: clay. After all, clay jars are used to store everything: meat, herbs, and, his personal favorite, ale.

But in his hunt for clay, Udo drills too far, is captured by the Dwergaz, and brought to the goddess Ing - or what he believes is a goddess. As Udo digs deeper into his world, and not just by digging holes, what he discovers is far beyond mountains and gods and monsters.

There may be other worlds beyond his. Worlds surrounding other stars. In fact, his own home may not be a world at all.

Udo the Digger bends the tropes of science fiction and fantasy into a wild adventure that will amuse and surprise even veterans of both genres. It's perfect for fans of Arthur C. Clarke's Rama, Horizon Zero Dawn, Aurora, and Book of the Long Sun.

©2019 Aethon Books (P)2020 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Worldship: Udo the Digger

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    102
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    126
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Builds towards an interesting hook..!

Ok fair warning. This is a tale and a half. It’s a slow burner, and Udo takes a while to become likeable. But suddenly you’ll find yourself laughing out loud at his antics, cheering him on, and wishing him luck.
And then, suddenly, there’s a strange happening. You gasp, rewind 30 seconds. Yes you heard it right, but what on Earth does it mean?!

Take the time to dive in to this one, I can’t wait for the follow up now... well crafted Mr Gayou.

And once again, RC Bray’s narration is simply stellar.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The only good thing about this Book is RC Bray

R C Bray is one of my favorite narrators, and as I think he brings books to life, and you get the feeling that he actually really enjoyes reading the books.......
that being said, you cant bring a lifeless book to life no matter how good the narrator is. Lacked that hook that gets you to continue.... bores the crap out of you explaining all about udo, hook me first then explain Mr writer.....Another book I gave up on after several chapters.....

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

God Damn

Already wanting the second book, Great bit of writing. So easy to fall into the story, so many hints for what is to come. Loved Udo, so many problems, loved his character. Not normally what I would read, but being that the great R C Bray was narrating, gave it a go, so pleased I did.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

Great story, loads of references towards what's to come. leaves you intrigued.
well done Mr Gayou again and not forgetting Mr Bray as well.
well worth the credit, hell, I'd pay full price for this one!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Some people must simply have more patience than me

I realise that there are a number of 5* reviews for this book and it may be that there is a story in here somewhere but, for me, I listened for almost four hours and learnt that Ugo is a digger and society treats them as lower class citizens. He likes to get slaughtered and laid, preferably at the same time. And, not sure if I mentioned, he’s a digger. That’s it, in four hours. I was just about to jack it in when a story emerges, but one so horrifically hard to fathom or even grasp the character expansion that it was the final straw for me. I’d have probably preferred for just the drinking, shagging and digging to continue but, as it as, five hours invested, it’s a refund. If you manage to buy and finish it, please, for the love of God, explain it to me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

good old bray

if it wasn't for rc bray i would of given up. It went off on tangents and waffled way too much and the end was ?????

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

worth a listen

Great story love the format as a retelling years after the fact and a very cool world with lots of potential

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Astounding

Absolutely amazing story and read by the best narrator. Couldn’t stop listening! Can’t wait for the follow up

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Really enjoyed it, Gayou is genuinely gifted at stroy telling, And bray is amazing again!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good performance, weird story

I listened till the end as the reader held my attention but as to the story, it didn't grab me. Lots of swearing (which doesn't really offend my sensitivities) Having struggled to get to the end I still don't know what the book was about.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ahkia
  • Ahkia
  • 02-06-20

I am confused.

The story went no where. I have no idea what I just listened to. I no longer trust the 5 star reviews.

37 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ed Johnson
  • Ed Johnson
  • 28-05-20

Not even close to his first mastpice All Gifts

The first 4 chapters he spends all the time in character development it's boring. Not to mention he talks about drunkenness getting laid prostitution and use profane language.

It seems like Jason Gayou was writing this book to fulfill a contractual obligation and to piss off the editor in the process.

I would not recommend this book.

Bray is fantastic as usual and I'm sorry that he had to read and record this unprofessional drivel.

23 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tripp Southern
  • Tripp Southern
  • 09-06-20

Meandering and plotless.

11 hours in and still no plot or character arcs. Disappointed in Gayou. Returning unfinished.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for tpisel
  • tpisel
  • 07-06-20

Really bad

I was so excited when I saw that Joshua Gayou had a new book and series so I jumped right in. I LOVED the Commune series but this was a disappointment that I struggled to finish. The Characters are underdeveloped, the world is shallow and the story is uninteresting.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for YL
  • YL
  • 17-06-20

10 Hours In, No Story In Sight

I gave up waiting for the shift from world building rambling to a story. It seemed like around 11 hours in there was a glimmer Frankenstein or Grapes of Wrath in space, but I just didn't care anymore, exhausted by the meandering build up that had taken longer than many complete novels.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Erick
  • Erick
  • 15-06-20

A book with no point or story arc

I don’t get the good reviews. The first few hours were treacherous and I’ve fallen asleep from boredom so many times to this book. Aside from a few funny Dick jokes, I don’t get it This world Udo lives in is nightmare and the author tries to explain some greater gods or forces in act with zero effort. Can I have 6 hours of my life back

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jose
  • Jose
  • 11-06-20

Still looking for plot

I don’t get the 5 star reviews. It never really made that much sense to me. The ending was just plain weird. As always R.C BRAY was just awesome

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Matthew
  • Matthew
  • 28-05-20

great narration and book

honestly I loved the book. I had a deep bond with the donkey. The donkey was my favorite character of the book. I think about him a lot. I pet random donkeys I see around. Just to tell them they are good boys. But about the book. I honestly have no idea what it's about. I loved it though. look forward to the next part.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shaun P. Fay
  • Shaun P. Fay
  • 26-05-20

Recommend to Gayou and Bray fans

I think what Joshua does best through all the books I've read, really comes through in this book. He is very good at writing about people. This book is no exception. Interestingly as you read, you start to have new questions about Udo, his pantheon, his world. And things are cleverly revealed, and new questions are created. I look forward to the next book in this series a lot. And Rc Bray does a fantastic job and proves he is one of the best narrators time and time again.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CHAD
  • CHAD
  • 27-05-20

Haven’t been disappointed yet!

So far every book these two have put out has been a zinger. Keep it up guys!!!

7 people found this helpful