Try an audiobook on us

When Darkness Calls

Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Length: 11 hrs and 24 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (18 ratings)

Regular price: £19.99

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

When Darkness Calls is the first in a new crime thriller series starring forensic psychologist Holly Wakefield. For fans of Patricia Cornwell, Val McDermid, Robert Galbraith and the TV crime series Luther and Strike

Do you dare to look into the eye of a serial killer?

Holly Wakefield works for the NHS as a criminal psychologist specialising in serial killers. She has particular reason to be good at her job - but she keeps that to herself. 

When DI Bishop from the Met Police approaches Holly to investigate a recent killing, Holly is horrified by the dismembered bodies and the way they have been theatrically positioned. More shocking still is when the pathologist reveals this is not the first time she has seen these mutilations. It means a serial killer is out there, and they're going to kill again - soon. 

Holly is used to chasing serial killers. But this killer has something in common with Holly that she's kept hidden for as long as she can remember. And for the first time since she was a child, Holly is forced to face the darkness of her past....

A gripping thriller set in London, featuring a criminal psychologist who specialises in hunting serial killers and has hidden reasons for being unnervingly good at her job....

©2019 Mark Griffin (P)2019 Hachette Audio UK

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

100% recommended

This was a totally absorbing and highly rewarding story about a profiler with a secret or two, a series of brutal crimes stretching back futher than anyone could have known and a startling finale.

Tamsin Kennard narrated it beautifully, she is fast becoming one of my favourite narrators.

I wholeheartedly recommend this title and am hoping there will be a book 2 about Holly in the near future.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Melanie D
  • In the beautiful Yorkshire Dales
  • 24-05-19

Solid thriller with nice twists and turns

As the review title says. This is a well-crafted thriller and has been something I've enjoyed having accompany me in the car as I run errands - I may have occasionally sat in the car for longer than was necessary just to finish a chapter, which is a good sign here. There are the inevitable occasional mispronunciations that irritate me about most audiobooks, but for the most part this is well-performed and enjoyable to listen to.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Gave up

I got to chapter 10 and gave up. unfortunately this book couldn't keep my attention. It was just too slow moving for me.